![]() |
Rebounding Play
|
Incidental contact...he didn't even know the defender was there.
|
Quote:
|
Elbow was moving faster than the pivot. Foul under basketball rules. NBA though---->:confused:
|
The rebounder was clearly looking to make a pass, so I find the elbow movement and unfortunate contact to be incidental.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I would disagree with your assessment...the elbows and his pivot are moving at the same time. It was a simple pivot keeping his elbows out and the ball high...just like every coach in America teaches. IMO...the referee over reacted when Garnett hit the floor. |
Garnett is entitled to his spot on the floor. The rebounder had his elbows extended beyond his protected space. If Garnett had been sticking his nose in the rebounder's space, it would be on him. That wasn't the case here, IMO.
|
Just wondering why the official standing 6 feet from the play has nothing? Because it was nothing that is why...if that elbow hits him in the shoulder or chest there wouldn't be a call at all.
|
Quote:
|
Pretty easy offensive foul to me...
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Also from that angle, it's easy to see Howard initiating contact with his elbow before pivoting. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
We are going to agree to disagree on this play.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
As it stands, I don't see much room for reasonable disagreement here. Howard's got long arms, and his elbow is way outside the limit of his protected space when he makes contact. Garnett's head is not in that space or even very near it. All that's true regardless of whether one judges that the elbow was moving faster than the pivot, and it independently warrants the foul. |
Quote:
According to NFHS 4-24-6:"...The extension of the elbows when the hands are on the hips, or when the hands are held near the chest, or when the arms are held more or less horizontally are examples of the illegal positions used." I believe the NCAA wording is similar. I'm also assuming the NBA rule is similar, since the C came in and got that call when the L was straight-lined from the contact. Great call from the C. |
Howard knew exactly what he was doing and went after KG. It was completely avoidable. Offensive foul for sure.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm. |