The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58466-correctable-error.html)

Gargil Wed Jun 23, 2010 06:24am

Correctable Error
 
In a varsity boys game team A gets fouled and should be in the bonus. The officials do not realize this and the table is no help. Team A coach is trying to get the attention of the officials and table to let them know he should be in the bonus. He finally calls a time out and points out the fact that he should be in the bonus. The officials let him shoot the bonus. Does he get his time out back??

BillyMac Wed Jun 23, 2010 06:45am

5-8-4 And 5-11-3 ...
 
Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official: Responds to the scorer’s signal to grant a coach’s request that a correctable error, as in 2-10, or a timing, scoring or alternating-possession mistake be prevented or rectified. The appeal to the official shall be presented at the scorer’s table where a coach of each team may be present.

Only one 60-second time-out is charged (or one 30-second timeout, if that is the only type of time-out remaining) in 5-8-4 regardless of the amount of time consumed when no correction is made. EXCEPTION: No time-out is charged: b. If, in 5-8-4, the error or mistake is prevented or rectified.

mbyron Wed Jun 23, 2010 06:46am

According to 5-8-4, the coach need not request a time-out to fix a correctable error. He should report the error to the table, which should call the officials over to discuss the error.

If he does request a time-out and the error is rectified or prevented, it is not charged per 5-11-3 EXCEPTION.

Nevadaref Wed Jun 23, 2010 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 682958)
According to 5-8-4, the coach need not request a time-out to fix a correctable error. He should report the error to the table, which should call the officials over to discuss the error.

That's not true. Please note that 5-8-4 is under the section for time-outs.

Those words are written in the context that the head coach goes to the scorer's table and requests a time-out to discuss a possible correctable error as is noted in 10-5-1c.

Tio Wed Jun 23, 2010 12:11pm

No timeout charged. If the coach's appeal regarding the correctable error was unfounded, the timeout would be charged.

I am assuming the timeout was the first deadball after the clock was properly started...

vbzebra Wed Jun 23, 2010 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 683012)
No timeout charged. If the coach's appeal regarding the correctable error was unfounded, the timeout would be charged.

I am assuming the timeout was the first deadball after the clock was properly started...

ok, here's one...i heard at a camp one time a speaker say that he pregames with the table to not blow the horn during a live ball...

what if the table knows of the coaches request to fix an error, and was told by the R to not blow the horn during a live ball, and several baskets are made, THEN a dead ball, "allowing" the table to blow the horn (again, according to this particular speaker). Is it then NOT correctable b/c it wasn't before the 2nd live ball?...with the only reason for it NOT being within the normal C.E. time constraints is b/c the ref told the table in pregame to wait til a dead ball?

bob jenkins Wed Jun 23, 2010 02:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra (Post 683032)
ok, here's one...i heard at a camp one time a speaker say that he pregames with the table to not blow the horn during a live ball...

what if the table knows of the coaches request to fix an error, and was told by the R to not blow the horn during a live ball, and several baskets are made, THEN a dead ball, "allowing" the table to blow the horn (again, according to this particular speaker). Is it then NOT correctable b/c it wasn't before the 2nd live ball?...with the only reason for it NOT being within the normal C.E. time constraints is b/c the ref told the table in pregame to wait til a dead ball?

Huh? Why wouldn't the table blow the horn at the first dead ball (afte the first basket)? The error is still correctable at that point.

Adam Wed Jun 23, 2010 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vbzebra (Post 683032)
ok, here's one...i heard at a camp one time a speaker say that he pregames with the table to not blow the horn during a live ball...

what if the table knows of the coaches request to fix an error, and was told by the R to not blow the horn during a live ball, and several baskets are made, THEN a dead ball, "allowing" the table to blow the horn (again, according to this particular speaker). Is it then NOT correctable b/c it wasn't before the 2nd live ball?...with the only reason for it NOT being within the normal C.E. time constraints is b/c the ref told the table in pregame to wait til a dead ball?

Each basket constitutes a dead ball, thus allowing for the table to blow the horn even under the R's instructions.

Nevadaref Wed Jun 23, 2010 10:03pm

As Bob and Snaqs note the ball becomes dead following each made goal and the scorer could sound the horn then, but it would be best if the scorer/timer ignored the request of the R and simply followed the rules.

nevaeh.aaric Sat Jun 26, 2010 06:19am

I am thinking that if the error is Correctable, then there's no immediate issue -- I can treat this as a warning and be prepared to pull the stick/pair if an uncorrectable error starts occurring?

Camron Rust Sat Jun 26, 2010 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nevaeh.aaric (Post 683410)
I am thinking that if the error is Correctable, then there's no immediate issue -- I can treat this as a warning and be prepared to pull the stick/pair if an uncorrectable error starts occurring?

Welcome to the board...but I have no idea what you're talking about with warning or "stick/pair"??????

Jurassic Referee Sat Jun 26, 2010 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 683437)
Welcome to the board...but I have no idea what you're talking about with warning or "stick/pair"??????

He made 5 other posts but added links advertising his web sites. Web sites that had nothing to do with officiating. Just another spammer pulling the same old tricks. Looks like a mod has already deleted those links, which means this spammer probably won't be back.

Your link is reasonable, helpful and related. His wasn't.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1