The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two for the newbies, or anyone else (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58185-two-newbies-anyone-else.html)

Mark Padgett Sat May 22, 2010 07:06pm

Two for the newbies, or anyone else
 
Final weekend of spring league. Had two boys V and a JV game this afternoon. Two situations came up that I thought might be fun to discuss.

1) A1 shoots a three. While the ball is in the air, B1 fouls A2. The shot then goes in. Team A is in the bonus. What should happen? What, if anything, would be different if A1 was fouled on the shot prior to B1 fouling A2 but everything else was the same?

2) With a few seconds left, A1 inbounds to A2 who throws the ball toward the basket from behind the division line. The shot is short and as it comes down, A3 and B1 jump for it. The ball deflects off A3's hand into the air, the horn sounds ending the game and then the ball goes in the basket. Are points awarded to team A?

just another ref Sat May 22, 2010 07:57pm

1. A2 shoots bonus free throws.

A1 shoots his and 1 with lane cleared, followed by A2 shooting bonus
free throws.

2. Two points for Team A.

Pantherdreams Sat May 22, 2010 08:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 678076)

2. Two points for Team A.

Unless the intial shot was way short and the tip was beyond the 3 point arc.

Adam Sat May 22, 2010 08:29pm

Did A3 attempt to hit it towards the basket?

just another ref Sat May 22, 2010 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678078)
Did A3 attempt to hit it towards the basket?

Since it went in, I have to say yes.

Judtech Sat May 22, 2010 09:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 678072)
Final weekend of spring league. Had two boys V and a JV game this afternoon. Two situations came up that I thought might be fun to discuss.

1) A1 shoots a three. While the ball is in the air, B1 fouls A2. The shot then goes in. Team A is in the bonus. What should happen? What, if anything, would be different if A1 was fouled on the shot prior to B1 fouling A2 but everything else was the same?

2) With a few seconds left, A1 inbounds to A2 who throws the ball toward the basket from behind the division line. The shot is short and as it comes down, A3 and B1 jump for it. The ball deflects off A3's hand into the air, the horn sounds ending the game and then the ball goes in the basket. Are points awarded to team A?

1. Ball becomes dead once the official blows the whistle for the foul. Since the ball is still in flight and NOT in the cylinder the basket does not count.
1 A. A1 would shoot 3. Since the foul was called on the shot, it would make any resulting foul until the ball can be determined to be good or not a dead ball foul, thus resulting in a Technical. That would be 5 FT's for A and A ball on the opposite baseline to resume play
2. No basket. A3 was not making a legitimate attempt at the goal. Much like a defender has to obtain Legal Guarding Position, when shooting from beyond mid court, only the original shooter can have Legal Shooting Status. Had A3 gathered they would have obtained Legal Shooting Status and thus been allowed to score

These answers can be found on 42 (Since that is the answer to life, the universe and everything)

Judtech Sat May 22, 2010 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678078)
Did A3 attempt to hit it towards the basket?

That actually WAS a hot button issue a few years ago. The scenario was when a pass was deflected and ended up in the basket.

Camron Rust Sun May 23, 2010 02:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 678083)
2. No basket. A3 was not making a legitimate attempt at the goal. Much like a defender has to obtain Legal Guarding Position, when shooting from beyond mid court, only the original shooter can have Legal Shooting Status. Had A3 gathered they would have obtained Legal Shooting Status and thus been allowed to score

So, a player can't tap the ball into the basket? And a tap doesn't function in the very same way as a try? Hmmm. I guess I better delete 4-41 Articles 5 to 8.

And I'd love to see "Legal Shooting Status" in the book. Can you direct me to the page/rule/section/article????

Nevadaref Sun May 23, 2010 02:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 678097)
So, a player can't tap the ball into the basket? And a tap doesn't function in the very same way as a try? Hmmm. I guess I better delete 4-41 Articles 5 to 8.

And I'd love to see "Legal Shooting Status" in the book. Can you direct me to the page/rule/section/article????

Hello Camron....anybody home???

Did you miss the entire thread on blue text? He is obviously doing his best Padgett.

Sorry you missed the joke. :p

Camron Rust Sun May 23, 2010 03:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 678098)
Hello Camron....anybody home???

Did you miss the entire thread on blue text? He is obviously doing his best Padgett.

Sorry you missed the joke. :p

Apparently not at this hour. :p:eek:

Nevadaref Sun May 23, 2010 04:26am

It's all right. I believe that JR has some insightful opinions about that blue text. Perhaps he will remind us of them. :D

mbyron Sun May 23, 2010 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 678098)
Did you miss the entire thread on blue text? He is obviously doing his best Padgett.

A poor attempt at the unnecessary.

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 678082)
Since it went in, I have to say yes.

Not necessarily. If A3 was trying to grab the rebound, perhaps thinking there was enough time to catch and shoot, then this basket wouldn't count.

The way I understand it, if he had attempted to tap towards the basket, count the points. If he wasn't, then the basket doesn't count.

It's a judgment we'd have to make, and one for which A3 would get the benefit of the doubt. It would have to be obvious he wasn't trying to tap it in the basket before I'd wave the basket off.

just another ref Sun May 23, 2010 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 678126)
Not necessarily. If A3 was trying to grab the rebound, perhaps thinking there was enough time to catch and shoot, then this basket wouldn't count.

The way I understand it, if he had attempted to tap towards the basket, count the points. If he wasn't, then the basket doesn't count.

It's a judgment we'd have to make, and one for which A3 would get the benefit of the doubt. It would have to be obvious he wasn't trying to tap it in the basket before I'd wave the basket off.

Given the situation in the OP, considering the time remaining, I think it would really take something unusual before you wouldn't consider it a tap.

Adam Sun May 23, 2010 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 678131)
Given the situation in the OP, considering the time remaining, I think it would really take something unusual before you wouldn't consider it a tap.

Agreed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1