The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   inbound pass hits backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/58003-inbound-pass-hits-backboard.html)

rsl Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:27am

inbound pass hits backboard
 
Last night I had an in-bounds pass from the back court end line. The throw went cross court and barely grazed the side of the opponent's backboard.

I called a violation, but now I think I kicked it.

Since the side of the backboard is in-bounds, this is legal, right?

Camron Rust Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 675320)
Last night I had an in-bounds pass from the back court end line. The throw went cross court and barely grazed the side of the opponent's backboard.

I called a violation, but now I think I kicked it.

Since the side of the backboard is in-bounds, this is legal, right?

Correct.

grunewar Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:43am

Case Book Play 9.2.2
 
Throw-In Violations 9.2.2 SITUATION A: Thrower A1: (a) causes the ball to carom from the wall behind him/her, or from the floor out of bounds and then into the court; (b) caroms the ball from the back of the backboard to a player in the court; or (c) throws the ball against the side or the front face of the backboard, after which it rebounds into the hands of A2. RULING: Violation in (a) and (b), since the throw touched an object out of bounds. The throw-in in (c) is legal. The side and front face of the backboard are inbounds and, in this specific situation, are treated the same as the floor inbounds.

tref Fri Apr 30, 2010 11:51am

rsl - Where did you administer the following throwin?

SamIAm Fri Apr 30, 2010 02:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 675320)
Last night I had an in-bounds pass from the back court end line. The throw went cross court and barely grazed the side of the opponent's backboard.

I called a violation, but now I think I kicked it.

Since the side of the backboard is in-bounds, this is legal, right?

If the throw-in grazed the backboard then went more behind the backboard than in-front of the back board, then imo, the ball hit the back of the backboard. Your description doesn't sound like a violation.


Edit section:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 675381)
From how I read this, it's not necessarily correct. If it was thrown directly from the side, I agree. But if was thrown from any position in front of the backboard, then I disagree.

Excellent point. I will amend my post by appending your post.

rsl Fri Apr 30, 2010 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 675324)
rsl - Where did you administer the following throwin?

Same spot as original throw-in, but since I kicked the rule it does not matter a lot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 675351)
If the throw-in grazed the backboard then went more behind the backboard than in-front of the back board, then imo, the ball hit the back of the backboard. Your description doesn't sound like a violation.

It definitely hit the side. It barely grazed the corner between the front face and side.

mbyron Fri Apr 30, 2010 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rsl (Post 675356)
It definitely hit the side. It barely grazed the corner between the front face and side.

The backboard has 6 sides. Only one of them is out of bounds.

Adam Fri Apr 30, 2010 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 675351)
If the throw-in grazed the backboard then went more behind the backboard than in-front of the back board, then imo, the ball hit the back of the backboard. Your description doesn't sound like a violation.

From how I read this, it's not necessarily correct. If it was thrown directly from the side, I agree. But if was thrown from any position in front of the backboard, then I disagree.

Texas Aggie Fri Apr 30, 2010 10:58pm

Quote:

Only one of them is out of bounds.
That's an excellent way to think about it, but I'm almost positive this rule has changed over the years. Not recently, but another side used to be OOB.

Jurassic Referee Sat May 01, 2010 06:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie (Post 675395)
That's an excellent way to think about it, but I'm almost positive this rule has changed over the years. Not recently, but another side used to be OOB.

Not in the last 50 years afaik......

Jurassic Referee Sat May 01, 2010 06:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 675381)
From how I read this, it's not necessarily correct. If it was thrown directly from the side, I agree. But if was thrown from any position in front of the backboard, then I disagree.

:confused: How could the ball be thrown or hit in front of the backboard? From the OP, the throw-in was from the throwing team's backcourt and hit the closest backboard--the opponent's. That's phyically impossible unless the thrower can pitch a helluva curveball.

I believe SamIAm maybe is referring to the play where an endline throw-in hits the bottom of the closest backboard. There was a case play that came out years ago that said that if the throw-in dropped straight down or went out into the court, it was legal...but if it rebounded back towards the endine, it must have hit the back of the backboard and thus was a violation.

BillyMac Sat May 01, 2010 10:08am

For Every Action There Is An Equal And Opposite Reaction ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 675404)
There was a case play that came out years ago that said that if the throw-in dropped straight down or went out into the court, it was legal...but if it rebounded back towards the endine, it must have hit the back of the backboard and thus was a violation.

I don't recall such a case play. I wish there were such a case play since it would make the lead's call a lot easier since the lead has so much to watch for already during an under the basket throwin, whether the throwin team is under their own basket, or is under their opponent's basket: throwin violations by either team, inbounds players setting screens, and trying to gain favorable positions, etc. To follow the flight of a throwin to see exactly where it contacts the back of a backboard is very often difficult to do. Whenever I have this play as the lead, which is about once, or twice, a season, I almost always, at best, get a look at the contact point "out of the corner of my eye". I almost never get a real good look at it. Maybe it's just me. Over almost thirty years, it's become part of my routine to, pretty much, never look up at the basket area as the lead unless there's a play where a foul may be called on an attempt at a blocked shot. You won't see me, as the lead, calling any violations for a pass, or a shot, going over the backboard. As the lead, my eyes are not looking anywhere near the height of the basket, most of the time. Hell, I've had two plays over the past five years where, as the lead, I didn't even know if the basket went in, or not, before the ball went out of bounds.

I would like to see such a case play if there was one. Perhaps Nevadaref could dig it up from his archives. I do recall the topic, as described by Jurassic Referee, being discussed here on the Forum. If I recall correctly, some posters included descriptions of such a play that included the mathematics and physics of such a play, to come up with the same conclusion as Jurassic Referee, but I don't believe that it was a NFHS interpretation.

Adam Sat May 01, 2010 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 675404)
:confused: How could the ball be thrown or hit in front of the backboard? From the OP, the throw-in was from the throwing team's backcourt and hit the closest backboard--the opponent's. That's phyically impossible unless the thrower can pitch a helluva curveball.

You're right for the OP, as he said it was an end line throw in. I missed that part and got caught up in the "throw went cross court" portion.

SamIAm Mon May 03, 2010 07:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 675381)
From how I read this, it's not necessarily correct. If it was thrown directly from the side, I agree. But if was thrown from any position in front of the backboard, then I disagree.

Excellent point. I will amend my post by appending your post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1