The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 01:05pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question "I Bet You Didn't Know"

Each Monday, a local auto group runs an ad in the sports section of our local newspaper that looks like a column and has the title shown above. It's always a story (or two, or three) of some unusual sports event from the past. This week, one of the stories was of Hofstra guard Charles Jenkins, who in January, scored eight points in five seconds against UNC Wilmington.

According to the story, he was fouled while making a layup, an intentional foul was called on the shot and then the opposing coach got a technical. Jenkins made all four free throws (plus the layup) for six points. That's when I think there's an error in the story. It says he "stole the inbound pass and scored". If there was a technical, wouldn't his team have had the ball to inbound? My guess is he just received the inbound pass and scored.

College guys - isn't the NCAA rule on inbounding following a technical the same as NF - the team that shot the free throws gets the ball?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 01:12pm
Aleve Titles to Others
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: East Westchester of the Southern Conference
Posts: 5,381
Send a message via AIM to 26 Year Gap
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Each Monday, a local auto group runs an ad in the sports section of our local newspaper that looks like a column and has the title shown above. It's always a story (or two, or three) of some unusual sports event from the past. This week, one of the stories was of Hofstra guard Charles Jenkins, who in January, scored eight points in five seconds against UNC Wilmington.

According to the story, he was fouled while making a layup, an intentional foul was called on the shot and then the opposing coach got a technical. Jenkins made all four free throws (plus the layup) for six points. That's when I think there's an error in the story. It says he "stole the inbound pass and scored". If there was a technical, wouldn't his team have had the ball to inbound? My guess is he just received the inbound pass and scored.

College guys - isn't the NCAA rule on inbounding following a technical the same as NF - the team that shot the free throws gets the ball?
Maybe he stole it from a teammate.
__________________
Never hit a piņata if you see hornets flying out of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 01:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
College guys - isn't the NCAA rule on inbounding following a technical the same as NF - the team that shot the free throws gets the ball?
I'm not a college guy, but the rule is different. This T sounds like the POI variety. That said, POI should have been the shots for the intentional which would include the ball for the throw-in as well.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 01:31pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not a college guy, but the rule is different. This T sounds like the POI variety. That said, POI should have been the shots for the intentional which would include the ball for the throw-in as well.
What Snaq's said.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 02:31pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm not a college guy, but the rule is different. This T sounds like the POI variety. That said, POI should have been the shots for the intentional which would include the ball for the throw-in as well.
If that was the case, his team still would have been inbounding the ball, right?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 02:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
If that was the case, his team still would have been inbounding the ball, right?
Yes, Team A gets designated spot throw-in as part of the intentional foul administration. Technical free throws would have been shot before the free throws for the intentional foul.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 02:39pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Yes, Team A gets designated spot throw-in as part of the intentional foul administration. Technical free throws would have been shot before the free throws for the intentional foul.
So, fouls are not shot in the order in which the occurred, as in NF. Thanks for the clarification. All this tells me is that the column info was incorrect, as I thought.

Oh yeah - one of their dealerships (I drive by it a lot) has incorrect punctuation on a lot of their signs. The are using - 's - to indicate plural when it actually indicates possessive or a conjunction. A HS English teacher who is also a fellow ref and friend of mine told me he laughs every time he drives by there.

Can you tell I haven't had any games for the past few weeks and I'm bored?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Can you tell I haven't had any games for the past few weeks and I'm bored?
Nope, can't tell a difference.

__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
I looked it up for you Mark

This is from the boxscore:

It doesn't show a steal so you are probably right that it was Hofstra's ball and they passed the ball in resulting in Charles Jenkins getting 2 more points.


GOOD! LAYUP by Jenkins, Charles [FB/PNT] 09:21 28-9
09:21 FOUL by Basnight, Jeremy (P1T7)
09:21 FOUL TECHNCL by the bench
GOOD! FT SHOT by Jenkins, Charles 09:21 29-9 FOUL by (TEAM) (P1T8)
GOOD! FT SHOT by Jenkins, Charles 09:21 30-9
GOOD! FT SHOT by Jenkins, Charles 09:21 31-9
GOOD! FT SHOT by Jenkins, Charles 09:21 32-9
GOOD! JUMPER by Jenkins, Charles [PNT] 09:16 34-9
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 05:10pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Can you tell I haven't had any games for the past few weeks and I'm bored?
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Nope, can't tell a difference.
I can!

No stories on T's, tossing coaches, weird plays none of us could imagine, and hot moms..... when does the next season start?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 06, 2010, 08:42pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunewar View Post
I can!

No stories on T's, tossing coaches, weird plays none of us could imagine, and hot moms..... when does the next season start?

Spring league(s) start(s) Saturday. I'm probably working two of them.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
Finding a "good" video/DVD on 2 man mechanics" Linknblue Basketball 3 Mon Dec 10, 2007 09:55am
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? PAT THE REF Baseball 60 Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1