The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 10:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
Does anyone have a rule reference on 2a?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
1. This is a foul during a dead ball period. Whether the contact is inbounds or OOB, it is subject to the same standard. The official must deem the contact to be at the level of an intentional or flagrant foul or is must be ignored.

2a. Common foul. The defender did not break the boundary plane.
2b. Intentional foul by rule.

3. Common foul as in 2a. Same reason: the defender did not break the boundary plane. We don't know who will be the thrower in this situation. It could be the player currently holding the ball, but it may not. This foul is no different from any other foul committed inbounds during a throw-in.

4. Technical foul. When a player simultaneously infringes two rules, apply the harsher of the two penalties as a sanction.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2010, 07:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncaaref2001 View Post
Does anyone have a rule reference on 2a?
ncaaref is bringing up this 7 month old post because this is one of the questions on the NCAAW's test this year.

And, I agree with him, that it doesn't seem to be covered in the NCAA book (or, that the rule doesn't distinguish between a foul "in bounds" or "oob" on an inbounder)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 20, 2010, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
QUOTE=bob jenkins;697179]ncaaref is bringing up this 7 month old post because this is one of the questions on the NCAAW's test this year.

And, I agree with him, that it doesn't seem to be covered in the NCAA book (or, that the rule doesn't distinguish between a foul "in bounds" or "oob" on an inbounder)[/QUOTE]

Exactly Bob and as stated in Rule 4.29.d5 5. Contact with a player making a throw-in. (Women) This act shall
also serve as a team warning for reaching through the boundary.

It is really not clear because the first part does not say that the defender reached through the boundary plane and the second part says that there should be a warning issued for reaching through the boundary plane. It needs to be much more clear.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional Foul? Spence Basketball 16 Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:08am
Intentional Foul Help PAT THE REF Basketball 15 Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:46am
Intentional Foul ETSUOfficial Basketball 5 Wed Jan 26, 2005 10:20am
Substitution and Intentional Foul Questions vawils Basketball 8 Wed Dec 08, 2004 09:08am
Intentional Foul? tjchamp Basketball 10 Thu Oct 28, 2004 12:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1