The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Great job of getting together... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57526-great-job-getting-together.html)

bas2456 Fri Mar 12, 2010 12:45pm

Great job of getting together...
 
by the crew in the Ohio State-Michigan game.

OSU is pressing, and Hightower is counting as the T. Michigan tries a cross-court pass, and Evan Turner deflects the ball and it goes out of bounds in the backcourt. The shot clock showed 24.

Matta was yelling for a 10-second violation. The officials got together and ruled that the deflection by Turner did not establish team control for OSU, thus not resetting the shot clock.

On my DVR I can slow TV down to quarter speed, and the replay showed the shot clock hitting 24 right as the ball went OOB. They ruled a 10 second violation and gave the ball to OSU.

Watching Hightower, he stopped counting at 9, which was when the deflection took place.

EDIT: Hightower explained the call to Lavin, who then pretended on-air to know what Hightower was talking about.

Interesting play. I'm assuming they can use the shot clock to gauge the 10 second count if they need to?

Tio Fri Mar 12, 2010 01:14pm

The officials in this game were using precision time... which means they start the clock with the black box on their belt. The only way you wouldn't have a 10 sec. violation is if the crew has definite knowledge the clock started too early.... which cannot happen with Precision Time.

Remember, the ball must be possessed in frontcourt in 10 seconds. So the correct call is the 10 sec. violation.

Rich Fri Mar 12, 2010 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 667990)
The officials in this game were using precision time... which means they start the clock with the black box on their belt. The only way you wouldn't have a 10 sec. violation is if the crew has definite knowledge the clock started too early.... which cannot happen with Precision Time.

Remember, the ball must be possessed in frontcourt in 10 seconds. So the correct call is the 10 sec. violation.

The start/stop of the clock really had nothing to do with this -- the ball was tipped out by the defense in the backcourt and Hightower stopped his 10 second count even though team control hadn't ended.

Right call by rule, but I wonder if the result was gotten to in a way specifically allowed. Anyone want to address that?

Edited to add: Nobody even looked at it until the Ohio State coach screamed about the shot clock being at 24.

bob jenkins Fri Mar 12, 2010 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 667990)
The officials in this game were using precision time... which means they start the clock with the black box on their belt. The only way you wouldn't have a 10 sec. violation is if the crew has definite knowledge the clock started too early.... which cannot happen with Precision Time.

Yes it can (as I understand it).

Both the official(s) and the time keeper press the "start" button. If the TK presses the button too early, the clock can start early.

GoodwillRef Fri Mar 12, 2010 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 668010)
Yes it can (as I understand it).

Both the official(s) and the time keeper press the "start" button. If the TK presses the button too early, the clock can start early.

Thanks Bob...you stole my thunder. Hightower working a Big 10 game...I am shocked

GoodwillRef Fri Mar 12, 2010 02:14pm

This is Ed Hightower's 28th Big Ten game of the season...he had 32 last season.

Rich Fri Mar 12, 2010 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 668023)
This is Ed Hightower's 28th Big Ten game of the season...he had 32 last season.

Why the surprise? I'd be willing to bet he's the assigner's #1 official. Expect him tomorrow and Sunday, too.

CK Fri Mar 12, 2010 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 667990)
The officials in this game were using precision time... which means they start the clock with the black box on their belt. The only way you wouldn't have a 10 sec. violation is if the crew has definite knowledge the clock started too early.... which cannot happen with Precision Time.

Remember, the ball must be possessed in frontcourt in 10 seconds. So the correct call is the 10 sec. violation.

contact with a player or with the court is in the
frontcourt if neither the ball nor the player is touching the backcourt.:)

bas2456 Fri Mar 12, 2010 05:47pm

I think the whole controversy would have been avoided had Hightower just kept his count. He definitely would have gotten to ten.

I guess even the best have brain farts sometimes.

CLH Mon Mar 15, 2010 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 667990)
The officials in this game were using precision time... which means they start the clock with the black box on their belt. The only way you wouldn't have a 10 sec. violation is if the crew has definite knowledge the clock started too early.... which cannot happen with Precision Time.

Remember, the ball must be possessed in frontcourt in 10 seconds. So the correct call is the 10 sec. violation.

Precision Time has nothing to do with the shot clock. PTS only runs the game clock. Shot clocks run independent of game clocks. Precision time can definitely start early or even stop w/o a whistle. A heavy breath or talking can stop it. They are not infallilible and aren't quite as "precise" as the name would ensue.

My guess is they couldn't b/s their way outta this one and had to call something....big surprise!!

Jurassic Referee Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 668035)
Why the surprise? I'd be willing to bet he's the assigner's #1 official. Expect him tomorrow and Sunday, too.

You'd win.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1