The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Last player fouls out - but "special" rec league rule -- how to handle bonus? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57502-last-player-fouls-out-but-special-rec-league-rule-how-handle-bonus.html)

bradfordwilkins Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:22pm

Last player fouls out - but "special" rec league rule -- how to handle bonus?
 
So this adult wreck league uses NCAA rules - except when it comes to a player fouling out... they use the rule that every additional foul on this player is a technical foul.

So tonight we had that situation and A1 who had 5 fouls commits his 6th foul while his team is in the penalty. The game management had never actually encountered this so we pondered what to do -- give the tech and the bonus or just the tech and possession.

We ended up staying with just the tech and possession at division line but I thought I'd throw it out for the wolves to discuss.

Judtech Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:26pm

This used to be a rule WAAYYY back in the day. I want to say it applied to International play (Or the Big East in the 80's, since they REALLY knew how to foul) As memory serves you handled this correctly. Basically, what you are doing is bumping up the 'common foul' to a technical foul. Unless he fouled and then muttered an unspeakable!

Nevadaref Wed Mar 10, 2010 10:32pm

Just ask the guys what they used to do when they played in the NBA. ;)

Kelvin green Wed Mar 10, 2010 11:40pm

Nevada is right... They are trying to adopt a CBA rule/NBA rule. ..

If the person is able to stay in. NBA rules shoots the 1 shot T then play the foul... because that is the normal procedure in NBA...

If I were reffing in your league I would do what NCAA does on the T but I bet they intended a 1 shot T...

BillyMac Thu Mar 11, 2010 07:43am

Experiment ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Judtech (Post 667574)
Big East in the 80's.

Six fouls, rather than five, for disqualification.

bradfordwilkins Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kelvin green (Post 667591)
Nevada is right... They are trying to adopt a CBA rule/NBA rule. ..

If the person is able to stay in. NBA rules shoots the 1 shot T then play the foul... because that is the normal procedure in NBA...

If I were reffing in your league I would do what NCAA does on the T but I bet they intended a 1 shot T...

Ironically thats what prompted the question for me because I do a lot of Pro-AM in the city using NBA rules... and there the rule does make sense.... putting that into NCAA rules is tricky ha.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1