The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Two mistakes by the G'town/S. FL crew (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57499-two-mistakes-gtown-s-fl-crew.html)

Raymond Thu Mar 11, 2010 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewNCref (Post 667640)
I guess where I'm getting hung up is the part that says a correctable error is not an error in judgement, which would seem to suggest to me that the case you've mentioned is not in fact considered a correctable error.

Quote:

Originally Posted by jalons (Post 667643)
The NCAA rulebook has a section dealing specifically with the use of the monitor (2-13). The time frame for using the monitor is the same as that of the correctable error. This adds consistency for the officials. The play in question (2/3 point basket) is not a correctable error (NCAA 2-12).

Hmmm, I wonder if anyone posted that information: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post667634 :cool::rolleyes:

NewNCref Thu Mar 11, 2010 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jalons (Post 667643)
The NCAA rulebook has a section dealing specifically with the use of the monitor (2-13). The time frame for using the monitor is the same as that of the correctable error. This adds consistency for the officials. The play in question (2/3 point basket) is not a correctable error (NCAA 2-12).

I've looked all through 2-13, but I don't see any reference to a time frame for using the monitor, UNLESS what you're going to the monitor for is a correctable error.

And sorry BNR for saying again what you said you thought I was trying to say... :p

Raymond Thu Mar 11, 2010 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NewNCref (Post 667649)
I've looked all through 2-13, but I don't see any reference to a time frame for using the monitor, UNLESS what you're going to the monitor for is a correctable error.

And sorry BNR for saying again what you said you thought I was trying to say... :p

The monitor is a tool for rectifying correctable error situations. Since 2/3 point shots fall under the CE rule, the use of the monitor still needs to fall within the time constraint parameters.

jalons Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667651)
The monitor is a tool for rectifying correctable error situations. Since 2/3 point shots fall under the CE rule, the use of the monitor still needs to fall within the time constraint parameters.

Yeah, what he said! :D

NewNCref Thu Mar 11, 2010 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667651)
The monitor is a tool for rectifying correctable error situations. Since 2/3 point shots fall under the CE rule, the use of the monitor still needs to fall within the time constraint parameters.

While I am, admittedly, a little skeptical of all this still, I can buy this explanation and live with it.

Plus, I'm getting on a plane headed for Florida in a few hours, so I can live with most anything. Now where'd I put that bottle opener...

Tio Thu Mar 11, 2010 02:10pm

Yep... The Statue of limitations ended when the ball was placed at the disposal of the FT shooter. I agree with Nevada... kicking a rule is indefensible. Imagine if this was a 1 point game and they changed from a 2 to a 3.... this would be getting a lot more press if that were the case.

I have seen the basket interference play where a defender goes up through the cylinder. This is a HARD play! Usually, the center and trail get surprised on this play (the call needs to be made by one of them). I'd be interested to see the C & T positioning and I bet you the C especially got disengaged with the play.

A similar play happened in the Pac-10 last year and was similarly called an Incorrect No Call.

Nevadaref Thu Mar 11, 2010 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jalons (Post 667643)
The play in question (2/3 point basket) is not a correctable error (NCAA 2-12).

I dispute the authenticity of the above statement as stringently as possible.

From the 2010 NCAA Case Book:

A.R. 30. A1 releases a try for goal at the expiration of time for the game.
The official rules the field goal to be a successful two-point goal.
Before an official goes to a courtside monitor to confirm the
status of the play, the coach from Team A requests a correctable
error on the grounds that the goal was counted erroneously and
three points should have been awarded.

RULING: When there is a reading of zeros and after making a call on
the playing court, the officials shall be required to use the courtside
monitor to ascertain whether the try for field goal was released before
or after the reading of zeros on the game clock when it is necessary to
determine the outcome of the game. The officials may use the courtside
monitor to determine whether a try for goal was a two- or threepoint
attempt. The officials shall notify the coaches of both teams of
their intention to use the courtside monitor for this purpose. When
the coach’s appeal is ruled to be incorrect, a 75-second timeout shall
be charged or a 30-second timeout when a 75-second timeout is not
available in games not involving the electronic-media timeout format.
In games involving the electronic-media timeout format, either a 60-
or 30-second timeout shall be charged to his or her team. When that
timeout exceeds the allotted number, an administrative technical foul
shall be assessed to the offending team.
(Rule 2-13.2.b.1 and .3 and 2-13.3.a)

Adam Thu Mar 11, 2010 04:00pm

"I strenuously object."

M&M Guy Thu Mar 11, 2010 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 667791)
"I strenuously object."

Overruled.

Sit down, counselor.

:D

Jurassic Referee Thu Mar 11, 2010 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 667793)
Overruled.

Sit down, counselor.

And STFU.



Or else.

Raymond Thu Mar 11, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 667789)
I dispute the authenticity of the above statement as stringently as possible.

From the 2010 NCAA Case Book:

A.R. 30. A1 releases a try for goal at the expiration of time for the game.
The official rules the field goal to be a successful two-point goal.
Before an official goes to a courtside monitor to confirm the
status of the play, the coach from Team A requests a correctable
error on the grounds that the goal was counted erroneously and
three points should have been awarded.

RULING: When there is a reading of zeros and after making a call on
the playing court, the officials shall be required to use the courtside
monitor to ascertain whether the try for field goal was released before
or after the reading of zeros on the game clock when it is necessary to
determine the outcome of the game. The officials may use the courtside
monitor to determine whether a try for goal was a two- or threepoint
attempt. The officials shall notify the coaches of both teams of
their intention to use the courtside monitor for this purpose. When
the coach’s appeal is ruled to be incorrect, a 75-second timeout shall
be charged or a 30-second timeout when a 75-second timeout is not
available in games not involving the electronic-media timeout format.
In games involving the electronic-media timeout format, either a 60-
or 30-second timeout shall be charged to his or her team. When that
timeout exceeds the allotted number, an administrative technical foul
shall be assessed to the offending team.
(Rule 2-13.2.b.1 and .3 and 2-13.3.a)

Your're Tardy to the Party NV. :p
I already posted the applicable rule. :cool:

Nevadaref Thu Mar 11, 2010 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667796)
Your're Tardy to the Party NV. :p
I already posted the applicable rule. :cool:

I know the rule and saw your post. Remember I started this thread and was the one who originally labeled the crew's handling of the situation a mistake.

With my most recent post I was trying to find something in the NCAA Case Book, which spelled it out more clearly for those posters who believe that 2/3 is not a CE.

DLH17 Thu Mar 11, 2010 05:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 667791)
"I strenuously object."

A quote from the "galactically stupid"??? ;)

dahoopref Thu Mar 11, 2010 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 667791)
"I strenuously object."

Is that how it works? Hm? "Objection." "Overruled." "Oh, no, no, no. No, I STRENUOUSLY object." "Oh. Well, if you strenuously object then I should take some time to reconsider.

It's the difference between "paper officiating" and "on court officiating." :D

http://www.palzoo.net/file/pic/gallery/7272_view.jpg

M&M Guy Thu Mar 11, 2010 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DLH17 (Post 667808)
A quote from the "galactically stupid"??? ;)

Nah, just Iowa.

Although...

(Geeze Snaqs, what did you do to deserve this treatment today? :D)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1