The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dead Ball Foul by the Offense (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57488-dead-ball-foul-offense.html)

sjhoops Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:07pm

Dead Ball Foul by the Offense
 
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

26 Year Gap Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjhoops (Post 667325)
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

In HS there is no team control on a throw-in. B shoots.

APG Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjhoops (Post 667325)
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

The ball is live when it is at the disposal of the thrower, so in this situation you have a live ball. Team B would shoot free throws if in the bonus because there is no team control during a throw-in (NFHS rules).

JugglingReferee Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjhoops (Post 667325)
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

And if A1 was awarded the TI due to the APA, A doesn't lose the AP after the foul is flagged.

Adam Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjhoops (Post 667325)
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

1. the ball is live.
2. There is no team control on a throw-in.
3. Shoot the shots (assuming you're in the bonus).

Nevadaref Wed Mar 10, 2010 07:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 667331)
And if A1 was awarded the TI due to the APA, A doesn't lose the AP after the foul is flagged.

You use flags up there for basketball games? :D

Nevadaref Wed Mar 10, 2010 07:22am

BTW welcome back to the OP. His previous post on the forum was FIVE YEARS ago!

Raymond Wed Mar 10, 2010 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjhoops (Post 667325)
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

College or high school?

Nevadaref Wed Mar 10, 2010 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by sjhoops (Post 667325)
While A1 has the ball in hand out of bounds for a throw in, A2 sets an illegal screen and is called for a foul on B1. Both teams are in the bonus. Does B1 shoot 1+1 because the ball is not live or is the team control rule applied and Team administers the throw in at the place the foul occured?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667368)
College or high school?

The ball is not dead during the throw-in at either level. :D

Raymond Wed Mar 10, 2010 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 667371)
The ball is not dead during the throw-in at either level. :D

Since that was already addressed, I ignored that portion of the post. :cool:

With sj in his username possible he was discussing a play from the St. John's game.

Nevadaref Wed Mar 10, 2010 09:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667374)
Since that was already addressed, I ignored that portion of the post. :cool:

Just yanking your chain. :)
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667374)
With sj in his username possible he was discussing a play from the St. John's game.

Interesting...my first thought on sj was San Jose. ;)
I guess it depends upon your point of view.

You are back in Virginia, and I'm out here.

Although I have to believe that your thought on this one is likely accurate given that St. John's just played in the opening round of the Big East tourney yesterday and that is when he posted.

mbyron Wed Mar 10, 2010 09:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667374)
With sj in his username possible he was discussing a play from the St. John's game.

I thought it meant he was a Jesuit. :)

ref3808 Wed Mar 10, 2010 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 667387)
I thought it meant he was a Jesuit. :)

A little Catholic humor today. Good.

Raymond Wed Mar 10, 2010 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 667380)
Just yanking your chain. :)

Interesting...my first thought on sj was San Jose. ;)
...

Being from Northern California I can attest San Jose and hoops never occur in the same sentence. :p

Did have a very good friend who went to San Jose St (when the late Ricky Berry was playing) and then transferred to St. Mary's for his last 2 years.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1