The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player TF restart location? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57466-player-tf-restart-location.html)

Amesman Mon Mar 08, 2010 04:41pm

Player TF restart location?
 
OK, didn't find what I was looking for after initial look in the books so thought I'd finally tap the wisdom bank.

A1 scores and expects a FT for a three-point play but doesn't get it. Slams ball down. Ball soars quite very high. Tweet! That's a technical foul, young Rasheed.

After two FTAs for team B, where do we restart?

vbzebra Mon Mar 08, 2010 04:42pm

Team B gets a throw in at mid court, opposite the table...

Loudwhistle Mon Mar 08, 2010 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 667036)
OK, didn't find what I was looking for after initial look in the books so thought I'd finally tap the wisdom bank.

A1 scores and expects a FT for a three-point play but doesn't get it. Slams ball down. Ball soars quite very high. Tweet! That's a technical foul, young Rasheed.

After two FTAs for team B, where do we restart?

Division line team B ball.

Adam Mon Mar 08, 2010 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 667036)
OK, didn't find what I was looking for after initial look in the books so thought I'd finally tap the wisdom bank.

A1 scores and expects a FT for a three-point play but doesn't get it. Slams ball down. Ball soars quite very high. Tweet! That's a technical foul, young Rasheed.

After two FTAs for team B, where do we restart?

What rule set?

Raymond Mon Mar 08, 2010 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 667036)
OK, didn't find what I was looking for after initial look in the books so thought I'd finally tap the wisdom bank.

A1 scores and expects a FT for a three-point play but doesn't get it. Slams ball down. Ball soars quite very high. Tweet! That's a technical foul, young Rasheed.

After two FTAs for team B, where do we restart?

I'm interested, which part of this scenario makes you doubt what you already know about administering technical fouls?

M&M Guy Mon Mar 08, 2010 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 667039)
What rule set?

Good question.

You're my hero. :D

Amesman Mon Mar 08, 2010 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 667040)
I'm interested, which part of this scenario makes you doubt what you already know about administering technical fouls?

Just looking for affirmation -- and I got it, thanks. After my partner called this T and we administered the FTAs, I headed for a division-line throw-in but he started to run the ball back to the far endline. I met him quickly about midcourt and discreetly asked what was going on. Much the veteran to me and a chompin' gum type of no-nonsense guy, he explained "all player technicals go to point of interruption."

I gave him a skeptical, "Uh, are you sure?" he nodded and off he went. Didn't sound right. But it was middle school ball, early in the game. Play on. Check further later. Here we are.

To Snaq's question, could this be different under non-NFHS rules? (Though I'm pretty sure he hasn't done NCAA, FIBA or other ball.)

Adam Mon Mar 08, 2010 05:57pm

Your partner would have been right under NCAA ball. I wouldn't get into a pissing match over this with him, but here's how I would have done it.

"No, it's not. In high school rules, the only Ts that go POI are double Ts."

partner: "yes, it is."

me: "You willing to bet a game fee on it at half time/after the game?"

While I'm not going to cause a scene on the court, I'll pull out the book on him later; anyone who that thoroughly screws up a basic rule isn't going to affect my career any worse than kicking this rule might have already done.

I had to correct two vet partners (in the same game) on this one this year when I realized what they were doing. They didn't fight me, but then again, I didn't give them the option of being right by asking, "are you sure?"

mbyron Mon Mar 08, 2010 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 667050)
Your partner would have been right under NCAA ball.

Partly right. Is there such a thing as a "player technical" in NCAA? :rolleyes:

Adam Mon Mar 08, 2010 06:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 667052)
Partly right. Is there such a thing as a "player technical" in NCAA? :rolleyes:

good point, I simply meant his partner would have had the right application. I have no opinion or knowledge about his terminology.

Nevadaref Mon Mar 08, 2010 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 667052)
Partly right. Is there such a thing as a "player technical" in NCAA? :rolleyes:

NCAAM = no
NCAAW = yes

;)

Adam Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 667043)
You're my hero. :D

bump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1