![]() |
Intentional foul on throw-in
So we all know the rule about making contact with thrower or the ball on a throw-in. Intentional foul for contact on the thrower and a T for contact on the ball. I'm sure it's been discussed before, but don't you have to break the plane before contact can happen. So you would always have a delay of game warning before any of these other sits. happen. was having a disscusion with some other officials and was wondering your thoughts. Reasons for thoes other rules if you know of any. thanks
|
This Looks Like A Job For The ...
Mythbusters.
The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded. |
Quote:
Why do they have these rules since they come after the breaking of the plane. Have no problem with the rule or calling it. We were just trying to get the thought process behind it.:) |
Think of it this way. If it's a "continuous act", then you call the technical for hitting the ball or the intentional personal for fouling the player. If you didn't call it that way, you'd never have either of those calls because you'd call everything as just a DOG.
|
Quote:
1) If the complete act is breaking the plane, it's a DOG warning(first time). 2) If the complete act is reaching through the plane and then touching the ball in the thrower's hand(s), it's a technical foul. 3) If the complete act is reaching through the plane and then touching the thrower, it's an intentional personal foul. Different penalties for different acts. |
Ok. I must be retarded and can't ask the question the right way. I under stand how to call it and have called it before. Just want to know if anyone has some insight as to why they went beyond just the DOG for breaking the plane. Were people taking freeshots at the inbounder? Did they come up with these penalties to protect the inbounder? Again I have no problem with the rule. we were just talking about it and though it was funny that you would have something penalized after a initial infraction. (break plane before contact) If I am still not making any sense let me know:D is this a dead horse?
|
Just Don't Call Me Late For Dinner ...
Quote:
http://thm-a04.yimg.com/nimage/8540f002935f891a |
Pet Peeve ...
Quote:
The King will reply, "I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for Me." (Matthew 25:40) |
Quote:
I won't comment on the "r" word as it seems to be politically incorrect to do so in this context, but allow me to give your question a shot. In a way, this situation is no different from the situation in which a defender initially goes up to block a shot and then continues on to make significant contact resulting in an intentional foul. You don't stop evaluating the play when the initial contact is made, you stay with the play and penalize accordingly i.e. with an intentional foul. The play you describe is a quirk. I have had the very same discussion concerning this very play. It is similar to attempting to explain to a rookie official that a step into a jump stop is NOT a travel immediately after you explain to the rookie official that the first foot to land is the pivot foot AND the pivot foot CANNOT land BEFORE the ball is released for a pass or try otherwise the player is guilty of a travel. Don't try to logically work through the play as it is not logical. It IS, however the RULE. As JR would say, Rules Rulz. Some rules make logical sense, others not quite so much. In this case, the NFHS wants us to protect the inbounder with this play via rule. If the player merely violates the plane, the play ends there. IF you, as the administering official IMMEDIATELY sound the whistle PRIOR to the contact, you can call a team technical foul for a second delay of game. For example, if the defender quickly put his hand through the plane, pulled it back. You could sound your whistle as soon as the first act happens. However, in most cases, the player reaches through the plane and makes contact so quickly that we have no choice. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Reaching through the boundary plane and touching the thrower is definitely illegal. |
Much Appreciated ...
Quote:
|
Show Me On The Doll ...
Quote:
|
definition of retarded from merriam webster
sometimes offensive : slow or limited in intellectual or emotional development or academic progress its not an offensive word but sometimes people take it that way, in his use and context i think it was apropos. |
Oh, Tish. That's French.
Quote:
What have you done with mbyron? How much ransom do we have to pay for you to keep him? (Apologies to O. Henry) |
I believe my thread has been hijacked.:p
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Since we have a live ball situation, let's examine the personal foul definition, excluding the airborne shooter part. "A foul is an infraction of the rules which is charged and is penalized." 4-19-1 ...A personal foul is a player foul which involves illegal contact with an opponent while the ball is live, which hinders an opponent from performing normal defensive and offensive movements. So in order for the foul to be charged and penalized, there must be illegal contact and that contact needs to hinder the opponent. So how do we know if the contact hindered the opponent? I would argue that since the players of the non-thrower team are not allowed by rule to cross the boundary plane there is no possible way that the thrower can be expected to play through any contact while performing the throw-in. The contact itself changes the normal circumstances of the throw-in. Therefore, any touch by a defensive player in this case meets the definition of a foul. At least that's my thinking. ;) |
Quote:
If not, I suggest an editorial revision. 9-4-10 penalty: If an opponent.....reaches through the......boundary-line plane and contacts the thrower........... |
Some things that happen during a game call themselves. And this is one of them imo. If a defender reaches over the line and contacts the thrower, call an intentional personal foul. That's the purpose and intent of the rule, not whether a judgment call should be made as to whether the contact was illegal. If the rulesmakers really wanted us to adjudicate the situation that way, I'll guarantee you that we'd have seen a POE or case play to that effect by now.
Gee, guys, all we really need is the coach of the defending team hollering at us that his player didn't mean it and it shouldn't be a foul. Yup, we really need more arguments like that. Our job is just way too easy now anyway. More paralysis by analysis. |
Quote:
The "no call because a player was breaking open for a layup" is a red herring here. You'd stop the game for a "breaking the plane" DOG warning anyway. If the defense breaks the plane sufficient to contact the inbounder, call the foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Administering Technicals
So excuse me in advance I am learning, If the player croosses the plane and contacts the ball it is a technical foul, if the team has already been warned for DOG that is a technical foul. One T assigned to player, one T assigned to Team. 4 freethrows and the ball?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
:D |
Quote:
"He was pink But he was a dink Let him sink" "Roses are red Violets are purple She was as sweet As maple surple." |
Foul on thrower
Just keep in mind , and be watching very closely
If the thrower sticks the ball out across the plane , the defender may touch the ball , knock it out of the hands or cause a held ball situation |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
The offense is the same as when the President said his bowling skills would put him in the Special Olympics (yes, it's a paraphrase). He was exhibiting self-deprecating humor, but at the expense (inadvertently) of a significant portion of our population. I'm not saying which side of this fence I'm on, just explaining the fence. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Where's My Pocket Protector ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Happy Festivus For The Rest Of Us ...
Quote:
http://postworthy.com/ChristmasPictu...tChristmas.jpg |
Quote:
|
In His Own Words ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20am. |