The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 05:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
On a throw in after a made basket, A1 throws a pass.

B1 makes contact with the ball after it leaves A1's hand, but the ball has still not crossed the plane from OOB to inbounds.

Is this anything? Tech on B1?
Look up when the restrictions on a throw-in end, and you'll have your answer.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 06:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,531
Note: Before Ball Released ...

The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin before the ball has been released on a throw-in pass, the defender’s team will receive a team warning, or if the team has already been warned for one of the four delay situations, this action would result in a team technical foul.

When did the defender cross the plane of the boundary?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Well, Bob, I have.

I looked at 9-2 and I can't find if the ball has been released by A1 and in the air, but yet to break the boundary line and B2 hits the ball.

I know the rule if the ball is still in possesion of the thrower. Just am unsure if this situation.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 21, 2010, 07:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 164
Can you describe the throw in a bit more detail? That must a split second action between the thrower's release of the ball and the defender crossing the plane to touch it BEFORE it crossed the inbounds line. Wow!!
__________________
Paul LeBoutillier
Ontario, Oregon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1