The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What would you have done? Weird OOB. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57198-what-would-you-have-done-weird-oob.html)

Mark Padgett Wed Feb 17, 2010 01:33pm

What would you have done? Weird OOB.
 
8th grade boys rec league - NF rules. A1 in frontcourt passes to A2. Ball deflects off A2's hand and is bouncing toward OOB near table. B6 is kneeling on floor OOB next to table waiting to sub in. It appears that A2 is going to have a chance to get to the ball as it goes OOB and "save" it, but B6 reaches his hand out to his side and touches the ball. When this occurs, the ball is over the OOB area, and B6 never put his hand inbounds. Obviously, ball is now OOB.

Would you:
1) just call the OOB and give the throw in to team B
2) call the ball OOB against a team B member and give the throw in to team A
3) call a technical foul on B6
4) other (if so, what?)

StripesOhio Wed Feb 17, 2010 01:45pm

Last touched by A2 when ball went OOB.

B ball.

B6 might as well be the table himself, makes no difference.

==

I had an instance last night with a ball rolling down the sideline when it touched the foot of the standing coach. Coach was partially out of bounds so when she made contact with the ball, it was OOB.

Adam Wed Feb 17, 2010 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by StripesOhio (Post 662565)
Last touched by A2 when ball went OOB.

B ball.

B6 might as well be the table himself, makes no difference.

==

I had an instance last night with a ball rolling down the sideline when it touched the foot of the standing coach. Coach was partially out of bounds so when she made contact with the ball, it was OOB.

So the coach was out of the coaching box and made contact with a live ball?

Pantherdreams Wed Feb 17, 2010 01:49pm

Grade 8 game . . .

Ball is out of bounds. B Ball

Lean to B6 as he's waved in "Hey kid don't touch the ball until we know its out and every has had a chance to save it."

StripesOhio Wed Feb 17, 2010 02:11pm

No, she had a foot on the line when she "kicked" the ball.

Honestly, no big deal. I was at division line opposite table, partner was down baseline. Neither had a good/close angle.

Adam Wed Feb 17, 2010 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by StripesOhio (Post 662581)
No, she had a foot on the line when she "kicked" the ball.

Honestly, no big deal. I was at division line opposite table, partner was down baseline. Neither had a good/close angle.

As long as the opponents of this coach didn't have a chance to play the ball; ok.

jTheUmp Wed Feb 17, 2010 02:55pm

1) 99% of the time, yes (see 3).

2) Can't. B6 is out of bounds and is not a player, so there's no rules justification for doing this.

3) I'd only consider doing this if B6 had obviously reached/stepped inbounds and touched the ball specifically so A couldn't have a chance to "save" it.


Did I get it right?

Amesman Wed Feb 17, 2010 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by StripesOhio (Post 662565)
Last touched by A2 when ball went OOB.

B ball.

B6 might as well be the table himself, makes no difference.

This might not be as simple as that. There are hairs to split.

If the ball hits the OOB person (who may be positioned there like a table), that's one thing. But if the person OOB makes a move to hit or grab the ball -- especially if it's deemed as potentially recoverable by a player on the court, as stated in the OP -- that's something different.

If you hold otherwise, what would you do about the player/coach who grabs a ball bouncing chest-high across a sideline, just as a game player is about to grab it? That ball still has inbounds status.

Intent has to play a part here.

Vinski Wed Feb 17, 2010 06:55pm

If B6 made a direct move at the ball and A1 would have had a chance to play it if B6 wouldn’t have interfered with the ball, I’m thinking I would probably have a T on B6. However, if there was no real chance at A2 making a play or B6 was stationary or made some effort to get out of the way, then OOB on A2.

Mark Padgett Wed Feb 17, 2010 07:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Vinski (Post 662652)
If B6 made a direct move at the ball and A1 would have had a chance to play it if B6 wouldn’t have interfered with the ball, I’m thinking I would probably have a T on B6. However, if there was no real chance at A2 making a play or B6 was stationary or made some effort to get out of the way, then OOB on A2.

That's exactly what I asked my partner, who was right next to the play and who blew his whistle, then came over to me to ask what he should call. He just shrugged when I asked him this. I said if you're not sure that B6 intentionally interfered with A2's play on the ball, then it's just OOB and give the ball to team B. That's what we did. Not a peep out of the coaches, either.

Vinski Wed Feb 17, 2010 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 662655)
That's what we did. Not a peep out of the coaches, either.

I like it when the coaches don't peep. :)

JugglingReferee Thu Feb 18, 2010 03:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 662553)
8th grade boys rec league - NF rules. A1 in frontcourt passes to A2. Ball deflects off A2's hand and is bouncing toward OOB near table. B6 is kneeling on floor OOB next to table waiting to sub in. It appears that A2 is going to have a chance to get to the ball as it goes OOB and "save" it, but B6 reaches his hand out to his side and touches the ball. When this occurs, the ball is over the OOB area, and B6 never put his hand inbounds. Obviously, ball is now OOB.

Would you:
1) just call the OOB and give the throw in to team B
2) call the ball OOB against a team B member and give the throw in to team A
3) call a technical foul on B6
4) other (if so, what?)

I believe that the only options are (1) and (3). If A had a chance at the live ball and was not afforded that opportunity, AND B6's safety wasn't in jeopardy, then I'm going with a (3). Otherwise, (1).

Ignats75 Fri Feb 19, 2010 12:04am

Only FACT in the OP is that B6 was out of bounds and the ball touched the player......Out of Bounds. B Ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1