The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error Procedure (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57179-correctable-error-procedure.html)

vawils Tue Feb 16, 2010 06:33pm

Correctable Error Procedure
 
Here is the real situation that happened:

A1 was fouled on floor by B and A was given the ball out of bounds in the offensive end under the basket. On the ensuing inbounds play, A2 scores a basket and is fouled on the attempt. In reporting the made try and foul to the table, the official was informed that on the previous foul it should have been a 1 and 1 since they were then at 7 fouls.

This is a correctable error as I understand it since it was detected in the first dead ball after the clock had already started. Rule 2-10. However since another play happened resulting in a free throw we were not sure of procedure for administering after the basket was made. What is the correct procedure.? The case book doesn't have the exact play but 2.10.1 Situation D is similar with A scoring a basket but without the foul as in our play. In the case book it looks like they only give the "bonus with no players on the lane" not a 1 and 1?

What we did is only give the 1 free throw shot for the foul on the made basket and did not give any free throw shots for the 1 and 1 which I now realize is wrong. Can someone suggest how we should have administered it and how many free throw shots they should have got?

Thanks for any help it clearing this up.

jdw3018 Tue Feb 16, 2010 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vawils (Post 662299)
Here is the real situation that happened:

A1 was fouled on floor by B and A was given the ball out of bounds in the offensive end under the basket. On the ensuing inbounds play, A2 scores a basket and is fouled on the attempt. In reporting the made try and foul to the table, the official was informed that on the previous foul it should have been a 1 and 1 since they were then at 7 fouls.

This is a correctable error as I understand it since it was detected in the first dead ball after the clock had already started. Rule 2-10. However since another play happened resulting in a free throw we were not sure of procedure for administering after the basket was made. What is the correct procedure.? The case book doesn't have the exact play but 2.10.1 Situation D is similar with A scoring a basket but without the foul as in our play. In the case book it looks like they only give the "bonus with no players on the lane" not a 1 and 1?

What we did is only give the 1 free throw shot for the foul on the made basket and did not give any free throw shots for the 1 and 1 which I now realize is wrong. Can someone suggest how we should have administered it and how many free throw shots they should have got?

Thanks for any help it clearing this up.

Shoot the 1-and-1 with no players on the lane. Then shoot the "And-1" with players on the lane, resuming as normal.

Adam Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by vawils (Post 662299)
Here is the real situation that happened:

A1 was fouled on floor by B and A was given the ball out of bounds in the offensive end under the basket. On the ensuing inbounds play, A2 scores a basket and is fouled on the attempt. In reporting the made try and foul to the table, the official was informed that on the previous foul it should have been a 1 and 1 since they were then at 7 fouls.

This is a correctable error as I understand it since it was detected in the first dead ball after the clock had already started. Rule 2-10. However since another play happened resulting in a free throw we were not sure of procedure for administering after the basket was made. What is the correct procedure.? The case book doesn't have the exact play but 2.10.1 Situation D is similar with A scoring a basket but without the foul as in our play. In the case book it looks like they only give the "bonus with no players on the lane" not a 1 and 1?

What we did is only give the 1 free throw shot for the foul on the made basket and did not give any free throw shots for the 1 and 1 which I now realize is wrong. Can someone suggest how we should have administered it and how many free throw shots they should have got?

Thanks for any help it clearing this up.

"Bonus" is "one and one." Same thing.
jdw's solution is the correct one.

mbyron Wed Feb 17, 2010 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 662301)
shoot the 1-and-1 with no players on the lane. Then shoot the "and-1" with players on the lane, resuming as normal.

+1

Raymond Wed Feb 17, 2010 09:13am

Another example of an offended team purposely allowing play to go on when they should have been shooting free throws.

Of course someone will be along shortly to say the offending coach should have been keeping count in his head and should have interrupted the officials to point out their mistake. But the offended coach has no such obligation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1