The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Re: Player on floor legal guarding position (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57022-re-player-floor-legal-guarding-position.html)

jdmara Tue Feb 09, 2010 05:04pm

Re: Player on floor legal guarding position
 
We had a situation a few weeks ago in a boy's JV game. After reading the thread on LGP while on the floor I'm not sure we got it correct (anymore).

A1 is bringing the ball up-court in transition being guarded by B1. A2 (slipped I believe [I don't really recall how he got there]) and was laying on the floor in a prone position. A1 dribbles across the court and B1 is screened accidentally by A2.

My partner called a team control foul on A2 (which I 100% agreed with at the time). Is it possibly legal to screen someone legally while you're in a prone position on the floor?

-Josh

pizanno Tue Feb 09, 2010 05:10pm

in a word...
 
no

fiasco Tue Feb 09, 2010 05:33pm

What do you mean he was "screened"?

jdw3018 Tue Feb 09, 2010 05:38pm

There is an entire thread about a player laying on the board right now.

If A2 fell and was laying still, and B2 had time and distance to avoid him after he got there (important part of the screening principle), then A2 can't be responsible for the contact.

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 09, 2010 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 660142)
We had a situation a few weeks ago in a boy's JV game. After reading the thread on LGP while on the floor I'm not sure we got it correct (anymore).

A1 is bringing the ball up-court in transition being guarded by B1. A2 (slipped I believe [I don't really recall how he got there]) and was laying on the floor in a prone position. A1 dribbles across the court and B1 is screened accidentally by A2.

My partner called a team control foul on A2 (which I 100% agreed with at the time). Is it possibly legal to screen someone legally while you're in a prone position on the floor?

Nope, but A2 wasn't screening anybody anyway by rule so that's completely irrelevant to what the call should be.

A2 had a legal position while lying on the floor under rule 4-23-1. If B1 then contacts A1, you can either no-call it for incidental contact or in the unlikely case where you think that B1 got some kind of advantage out of it, call a foul on B1. What you don't have is any kind of illegal act being made by A1 under the rules and therefore a foul shouldn't be called on him.

The only way that you could possibly call a foul on A2 would be if A2 fell down behind B1 and B1 immediately backed up and fell over A2. That doesn't sound like what you described above though.

jdmara Tue Feb 09, 2010 06:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 660149)
There is an entire thread about a player laying on the board right now.

If A2 fell and was laying still, and B2 had time and distance to avoid him after he got there (important part of the screening principle), then A2 can't be responsible for the contact.

I know there is an entire thread but I didn't want to hijack it with a specific case. It just gets too confusing. Hence the title with "RE:" attached ;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 660151)
Nope, but A2 wasn't screening anybody anyway by rule so that's completely irrelevant to what the call should be.

A2 had a legal position while lying on the floor under rule 4-23-1. If B1 then contacts A1, you can either no-call it for incidental contact or in the unlikely case where you think that B1 got some kind of advantage out of it, call a foul on B1. What you don't have is any kind of illegal act being made by A1 under the rules and therefore a foul shouldn't be called on him.

The only way that you could possibly call a foul on A2 would be if A2 fell down behind B1 and B1 immediately backed up and fell over A2. That doesn't sound like what you described above though.

There was time and distance between B1 and A2. It was quite a horrific sight since B1 went tripped and when head over heals onto the floor. But you're saying as long as time or distance is given, a prone player can legally be tripped over without a foul being charged to them. I guess I have trouble understanding that

-Josh

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 09, 2010 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 660153)
There was time and distance between B1 and A2.

But you're saying as long as time or distance is given, a prone player can legally be tripped over without a foul being charged to them.

Yes.

There's nothing in the rules that I know of that says that A2 is committing an illegal act of any kind.

jdmara Tue Feb 09, 2010 08:54pm

Ok, thanks

-Josh


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1