The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57020-team-control.html)

paxsonref Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:39pm

Team Control?
 
Question that was brought up from a local official, and wanted to get your ideas on how to administer.

Both teams in the bonus (1 and 1). A1 is fouled by B1 and goes to the line to shoot 1 and 1. As the ball is at the disposal of A1, A2 pushes B2 near mid court. So now what.....we have a False Double Foul. We will clear the lane and let A1 shoot the 1 and 1. If the A2 foul was judged as intentional (away from the play, non basketball play), we would give B2 2 shots and the ball near mid court. Does that sound correct so far? Each foul carrying its own penalty.....

Now, if the A2 foul was judged as a common foul, do you have team control at this point, and would you simply give the ball to B for a spot throw in? I am having trouble finding anything that says that a team does NOT have team control during a Free Throw......

Thoughts?

Adam Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paxsonref (Post 660002)
Now, if the A2 foul was judged as a common foul, do you have team control at this point, and would you simply give the ball to B for a spot throw in? I am having trouble finding anything that says that a team does NOT have team control during a throw in......

Thoughts?

Did you mean "free throw?"

Team control is established when a player is holding or dribbling a live ball in bounds.

paxsonref Tue Feb 09, 2010 01:00pm

Oops....yes, that is what I meant...it is edited.....

So during a FT, the player is holding a live ball inbounds, correct? That is where it gets a little fuzzy.....

Adam Tue Feb 09, 2010 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paxsonref (Post 660024)
Oops....yes, that is what I meant...it is edited.....

So during a FT, the player is holding a live ball inbounds, correct? That is where it gets a little fuzzy.....

It's not really fuzzy. You might be confusing a stopped clock with a dead ball. The ball becomes live once it's at the disposal of the shooter. 99% of the time, that's when he catches the bounce from the lead official. So, he's holding the ball. The ball is live. The ball is in bounds. 1+1+1=Team Control.

Jurassic Referee Tue Feb 09, 2010 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by paxsonref (Post 660002)
Both teams in the bonus (1 and 1). A1 is fouled by B1 and goes to the line to shoot 1 and 1. As the ball is at the disposal of A1, A2 pushes B2 near mid court. So now what.....we have a False Double Foul. We will clear the lane and let A1 shoot the 1 and 1. If the A2 foul was judged as intentional (away from the play, non basketball play), we would give B2 2 shots and the ball near mid court. Does that sound correct so far? Each foul carrying its own penalty.....

Now, if the A2 foul was judged as a common foul, do you have team control at this point, and would you simply give the ball to B for a spot throw in? I am having trouble finding anything that says that a team does NOT have team control during a throw in......

Thoughts?

A team does not have team control during a throw-in as per NFHS rule 4-12-6. That's irrelevant though because you're talking about a foul occurring during a free throw. During a FT, if A1 is holding the ball, then A1 has player control of the ball as per 4-12-1. And if A1 has player control, then team A also has team control as per 4-12-2.

You're correct in your anaysis if you ruled an intentional personal foul on A2 while A1 was holding the ball for his FT. A1 gets his 1/1, followed by B2 getting his 2 FT's and team B getting the ball for a throw-in at the closest spot to A2's foul.

If A2's foul was deemed a team control foul, A1 would get his 1/1 with no one on the lanes and then team B would get the ball for a throw-in at the closest OOB spot to A2's foul. Rule 7-5-4(a).

paxsonref Tue Feb 09, 2010 01:09pm

Right after I posted, I found an NCAA case play that is pretty much spot on...

Before a free throw by A1 is in flight, A2 pushes B2, then A3
steps into the free throw lane too soon. The bonus is in effect
for both teams.
RULING: The foul by A2, which created a false double foul, is a
team-control foul and causes the ball to become dead immediately.
Consequently, A3’s violation shall be ignored. A1 shall attempt the
free throw(s) with no players on the lane and when the last try is
successful, Team B shall have the privilege to run the endline. When
the last try is unsuccessful, play shall be resumed by awarding Team
B the ball for a throw-in at a designated spot closest to where the
team-control foul occurred.
(Rule 4-29.4 and 8-6.1)

Not something I've seen too often.....since the ball is generally released before the foul is called, therefore no team control......

Thanks!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1