The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T After the 4th Qtr Ends but Before OT Begins (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/57007-t-after-4th-qtr-ends-but-before-ot-begins.html)

Spence Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:24pm

T After the 4th Qtr Ends but Before OT Begins
 
4th qtr ends with the score tied. As teams are going to their bench Team A head coach says enough to earn a T.

Reading the exceptions for 5-6-2 #4 makes me wonder how to proceed.

It first says that if the T occurs after the ball has become dead to end the qtr or extra period that the next qtr or extra period will begin with the free throws.

It says this applies if there is to be an extra period.

Next it says if there is no way to determine whether there will be an extra period until the FTs are administered, the FTs are shot immediately.

So, the "if there is no way to determine whether there will be an extra period" line makes me think the FTs would be shot and if one of them is successful the game is over.

However, I have a vague memory and another ref agreed that the FTs are shot at the beginning of OT.

Am I misunderstanding 5-6-2 #4? Is it saying that the T FTs would be shot if one or both were needed to actually tie the game?

tjones1 Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 659749)
4th qtr ends with the score tied. As teams are going to their bench Team A head coach says enough to earn a T.

Reading the exceptions for 5-6-2 #4 makes me wonder how to proceed.

It first says that if the T occurs after the ball has become dead to end the qtr or extra period that the next qtr or extra period will begin with the free throws.

It says this applies if there is to be an extra period.

Next it says if there is no way to determine whether there will be an extra period until the FTs are administered, the FTs are shot immediately.

So, the "if there is no way to determine whether there will be an extra period" line makes me think the FTs would be shot and if one of them is successful the game is over.

However, I have a vague memory and another ref agreed that the FTs are shot at the beginning of OT.

Am I misunderstanding 5-6-2 #4? Is it saying that the T FTs would be shot if one or both were needed to actually tie the game?

OT begins with two free throws and the ball at the division line for a throw-in.

Spence Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 659751)
OT begins with two free throws and the ball at the division line for a throw-in.

So 5-6-2 #4 only deals with Ts that might result in the game ending up tied which would then send it to OT ie 2 point margin and winning coach gets T'd?

tjones1 Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 659752)
So 5-6-2 #4 only deals with Ts that might result in the game ending up tied which would then send it to OT ie 2 point margin and winning coach gets T'd?

Yes... 5.6.2 Situation F.

Check out the 5.6 and 5.6.2 case plays.

representing Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:27pm

This was just brought up at our last meeting. I was confused by it but this thread made it easier to understand.

If team is down by 1 or 2 and a Technical foul is administer, they shoot the FTs to determine if they win, tie or lose.

If tied, you start the OT with FTs and the ball with the arrow to the other direction.

Did I get that right? This makes sense since when the game is tied, there is another "period" which would go with that rule "FTs are administered in the next Quarter or period". If the game is over and a T is given, there is no OT at that point and so you have to shoot it then. Just making sure I got it right.

Spence Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 659753)
Yes... 5.6.2 Situation F.

Check out the 5.6 and 5.6.2 case plays.

5.6.2 H deals with a shooter being fouled at the buzzer AND the coach of the opposing team getting T'd as a result of not liking the foul call. If the subsequent FTs including the T FTs give one team a lead the game is over.

Is my original scenario not enforced the same because there was not a personal foul involved which will result in FTs?

tjones1 Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 659766)
5.6.2 H deals with a shooter being fouled at the buzzer AND the coach of the opposing team getting T'd as a result of not liking the foul call. If the subsequent FTs including the T FTs give one team a lead the game is over.

Is my original scenario not enforced the same because there was not a personal foul involved which will result in FTs?

Yes, in your OP, the quarter had ended.

In the case you cited, the quarter had not ended.

5-6-2 Exception 3
The quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed.

Therefore, since there was a foul resulting in free throws, the quarter hadn't ended. Thus, the technical foul free throws are still part of the 4th quarter.

Spence Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 659769)
Yes, in your OP, the quarter had ended.

In the case you cited, the quarter had not ended.

5-6-2 Exception 3
The quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed.

Therefore, since there was a foul resulting in free throws, the quarter hadn't ended. Thus, the technical foul free throws are still part of the 4th quarter.

Thanks. The T is under "all related activity," correct?

If so, lets say that A1 scores at the buzzer but the official says A1 traveled and waves off the basket. No time on the clock. As he's waving it off the HC from A comes charging onto the floor.

Is the subsequent T related activity ? Or does "related activity" only deal with fouls?

tjones1 Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:01am

Check out 5.6 Comment B.

Spence Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 659785)
Check out 5.6 Comment B.

Thanks, TJones.

Nevadaref Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 659774)
Thanks. The T is under "all related activity," correct?

If so, lets say that A1 scores at the buzzer but the official says A1 traveled and waves off the basket. No time on the clock. As he's waving it off the HC from A comes charging onto the floor.

Is the subsequent T related activity ? Or does "related activity" only deal with fouls?

In the above situation, the T would come following the end of the quarter as the ball became dead following or at the expiration of time, unless the referee puts time back on the clock due to definite knowledge.

Take a good look at the rules on when a quarter ends, and you'll have this down.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1