The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out after rebounding FT miss (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56975-time-out-after-rebounding-ft-miss.html)

representing Sun Feb 07, 2010 02:12pm

Time out after rebounding FT miss
 
Was just watching the USF and ND game and a situation popped into my head.

At the end of the game with 4.0 seconds left during a 1-and-1, ND's big guy was shooting and ND did not put anyone in the lane. USF puts 4 in the lane. Shooter made both, but this is a situation i had in mind:

If the shooter missed the second FT, a USF player rebounds. If he's calling time out just as he grabs the ball, does any time come off the clock? Would you tell the clock person to put 4.0 back on the clock if you think the player simultaneously called time out as he was grabbing and gaining possession of the ball? I don't know where this would be in the rulebook to look it up.

shishstripes Sun Feb 07, 2010 02:21pm

Some time has to come off the clock. As soon as the player touches the ball the clock starts. There will be a moment of time (no set amount) between the player touching the ball and the official granting the time out. The only thing they could do is to check if additional time ran off the clock after the official whistled for the time out.

APG Sun Feb 07, 2010 02:57pm

By rule, time should come off the clock. My guess is that in an NCAA game with a TV monitor, they'd go to the monitor and adjust the time using a stopwatch to determine how much time would come off. In an NBA game, they'd take off at minimum .3 seconds off the clock. This actually happened earlier this year (Denver Nuggets vs. Chicago Bulls) where Denver missed a free throw and Chicago called timeout while gaining possession of the ball. Under NFHS, you can not correct a timing mistake unless you have knowledge of how much time should be on the clock.

shishstripes Sun Feb 07, 2010 03:37pm

If you had to adjust the clock with instant replay, you would slow the replay down with the clock in the picture. You could not start and stop a stopwatch accurately enough to a tenth of a second.

CMHCoachNRef Sun Feb 07, 2010 09:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 659279)
Was just watching the USF and ND game and a situation popped into my head.

At the end of the game with 4.0 seconds left during a 1-and-1, ND's big guy was shooting and ND did not put anyone in the lane. USF puts 4 in the lane. Shooter made both, but this is a situation i had in mind:

If the shooter missed the second FT, a USF player rebounds. If he's calling time out just as he grabs the ball, does any time come off the clock? Would you tell the clock person to put 4.0 back on the clock if you think the player simultaneously called time out as he was grabbing and gaining possession of the ball? I don't know where this would be in the rulebook to look it up.

If we assume an NFHS game, we do have one situation in the Rules Interpretations for 2009-10 that provides some information (without giving a specific time guideline). It is this one:

SITUATION 11: Team B scores a goal to take the lead by one point. A1 immediately requests and is granted a timeout with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. Following the time-out, Team A is awarded the ball for a throw-in from anywhere along the end line. A1 passes the ball to A2, who is also outside the boundary; A2 passes the ball to A1 who is inbounds and running the length of the court. The timer mistakenly starts the clock when A2 touches A1's pass while standing outside the boundary. An official notices the clock starting on A2's touch (a), before A2 releases the throw-in pass to A1, (b), while A2's throw-in pass is in flight to A1, or (c), as soon as A1 catches the throw-in pass. RULING: This is an obvious timing mistake and may be corrected. In (a) and (b), the official shall blow the whistle, stop play and direct the timer to put three seconds on the game clock. Since the throw-in had not ended, play is resumed with a Team A throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (c), the official may put the correct time on the clock, but must make some allowance for the touching by A1 – likely 10ths of a second, if displayed. The ball is put in play nearest to where it was located when the stoppage occurred to correct the timing mistake. A "do over" is not permitted in (c), since the throw-in had ended. (4-36; 5-10-1)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1