![]() |
Lower Block Lane Violation??
Had a fellow official tell me of a play they had in their game. He is Trail and his partner is Lead during a 2 shot free throw. Team A is shooting a free throw and the Lead doesn't realize that a Team A player is occupying the lower block instead of a Team B player. He blows his whistle and calls a lane violation on Team A. Is this correct? Would you call this or step in and correct it?
Thanks |
Depends. Does FT shooter have the ball? If so, too late and it's a violation. It's poor game management by the L to let this happen but ultimately, it's the players' responsibility to get this right. Now, if it's third-grade house league basketball, I'd ignore it, collect the ball and quickly/quietly inform Kobe Jr. that he needs to switch out with a team B player. It won't happen a second time.
|
I can't remember the case play or interp that identifies this, but I think it is ruled a simultaneous violation when players line up incorrectly. Violation on Team A for occupying the space and a Violation by Team B for not occupying the space.
The penalty is no point and POI. POI would be shoot any remaining FTs or AP with a spot throw-in nearest the violation. If I am remembering incorrectly, I am sure someone will correct me. :) Rule 8-1-4(c) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11am. |