![]() |
Shooting at the Wrong Basket
Player A1 inbounds to Player A2 underneath Team B's basket. Player A2 shoots at Team B's basket and scores. I know that the points are awarded to Team B....who gets the credit in Team B's Scorebook for the bucket?
Also, if Player A2 in the same situation is fouled while shooting at Team B's Basket, by Player B1. What is the call if she A) Makes the bucket and B) Misses the bucket? Thanks |
Quote:
2. Doesn't matter if the basket is made or not, it's a common foul. Free throws will only be shot if the team is in the bonus. The only way this basket could count is if the ball goes through the basket before the foul. Otherwise the ball becomes dead immediately since it's not a "try" as defined in the rules. |
As far as who gets the credit, who cares? The running score is all that matters to me - usually this is given to the captain.
As to your second question, if the player is fouled in the act of shooting at the wrong basket the ball becomes dead immediately becuase this is not considered a shooting foul. Wave off the basket and give to B at the spot nearest the foul unless B is in the bonus in which case you would shoot the bonus free throws. There has been a casebook play on this very situation although I don't have it handy. |
Quote:
5-2-3 "not credited to a player, but is indicated in a footnote." |
Quote:
|
Is this even worthy of Mythbusters?
Quote:
As bob points out, though, it's not. |
Slow Whistle, I was wondering from a book keepers viewpoint.
Thanks for the clarification. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45am. |