The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Foul after made basketball

Title should read "Foul after made basket"... can't change it once posted

A1 shoots the ball and makes it. A3 Fouls B3 under the basket just as ball was going through the hoop. I called the foul as Lead. I go to table and say the basket still counts, and then reported the foul.

Didn't think about it then but thought about it a few plays later. Does B still get to run the endline for their throw-in?

Last edited by representing; Mon Feb 01, 2010 at 08:53pm. Reason: Change in title
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 08:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Does B still get to run the endline for their throw-in?
Did the basket count?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Title should read "Foul after made basket"... can't change it once posted

A1 shoots the ball and makes it. A3 Fouls B3 under the basket just as ball was going through the hoop. I called the foul as Lead. I go to table and say the basket still counts, and then reported the foul.

Didn't think about it then but thought about it a few plays later. Does B still get to run the endline for their throw-in?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Did the basket count?
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Yes
Mr. Byron answered your question with his response. He wasn't asking you a dumb question. He was trying to lead you to the answer.

That didn't work.

If the basket counts, they can run the endline.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
Mr. Byron answered your question with his response. He wasn't asking you a dumb question. He was trying to lead you to the answer.

That didn't work.

If the basket counts, they can run the endline.
I was wondering why he wasn't responding.

What if the ball has gone through the hoop already, it's bouncing on the floor and then A3 fouls B3 (A1 just made the basket). Still can run the endline? At what point during a situation like this would be the cutoff for endline or not, if there is one?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:23pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
I was wondering why he wasn't responding.

What if the ball has gone through the hoop already, it's bouncing on the floor and then A3 fouls B3 (A1 just made the basket). Still can run the endline? At what point during a situation like this would be the cutoff for endline or not, if there is one?
At this point, you have a dead ball, and by rule the only foul you would have is an intentional or flagrant technical foul.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
What if the ball has gone through the hoop already, it's bouncing on the floor and then A3 fouls B3 (A1 just made the basket). Still can run the endline? At what point during a situation like this would be the cutoff for endline or not, if there is one?
And I'll do what Mr. Byron did....

If the ball is bouncing on the floor after a made basket, what is it's status?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
At this point, you have a dead ball, and by rule the only foul you would have is an intentional or flagrant technical foul.
Yeah, good point. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
Title should read "Foul after made basket"... can't change it once posted

A1 shoots the ball and makes it. A3 Fouls B3 under the basket just as ball was going through the hoop. I called the foul as Lead. I go to table and say the basket still counts, and then reported the foul.

Didn't think about it then but thought about it a few plays later. Does B still get to run the endline for their throw-in?
Do you own a Case Book? Have you opened it yet?

7.5.7 SITUATION E: While A1's three-point field-goal attempt is in flight, A3
fouls B1 (B is not in the bonus) near the bottom block area. The three-point field goal
attempt is successful. RULING: Score the three-point goal for A1. Team B
will be permitted to run the end line on the ensuing throw-in. (6-7-7 Exception 2)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 598
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And I'll do what Mr. Byron did....

If the ball is bouncing on the floor after a made basket, what is it's status?
What is a dead ball waiting to be thrown inbounds?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
I was wondering why he wasn't responding.

What if the ball has gone through the hoop already, it's bouncing on the floor and then A3 fouls B3 (A1 just made the basket). Still can run the endline? At what point during a situation like this would be the cutoff for endline or not, if there is one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee View Post
And I'll do what Mr. Byron did....

If the ball is bouncing on the floor after a made basket, what is it's status?
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
What is a dead ball waiting to be thrown inbounds?
And what does the Rules Book say about contact during a dead ball? (4-19-1 Note)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 09:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
What is a dead ball waiting to be thrown inbounds?
Did you try to look up the answers to your questions in the rule book first?

I'm not being a smart-azz either. You'll learn a heckuva lot more and retain a heckuva lot more if you get in the habit of doing that.

You have a throw-in question. Rule #7 is all about throw-ins. The answer to all of your questions are in there. Give it a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 11:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
What is a dead ball waiting to be thrown inbounds?
Just some direction from the way I read this:

Look at the definitions of dead ball and live ball. Particularly, look into when the ball becomes dead and when it becomes live following a made basket.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 11:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
....... look into ........ when it becomes live following a made basket.
Which is actually a bit of a gray area.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 01, 2010, 11:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Which is actually a bit of a gray area.
There's a gray area, but it doesn't include the time during which the ball is bouncing on the floor; unless the throw in team is delaying. I see what you're saying, though. It's a bit gray, but not for this particular situation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentional foul on made basket oldschool Basketball 10 Thu Jan 08, 2009 02:54pm
Foul After Made Shot. tnsteele95 Basketball 8 Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:07pm
foul on made basket question roadking Basketball 3 Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:44pm
Foul on made shot Mark Dexter Basketball 10 Fri Jan 25, 2002 06:06am
Double Foul after a made basket Dewey1 Basketball 1 Sun Jan 13, 2002 01:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1