The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Violation or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56863-violation-not.html)

jlfdixie Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:06pm

Violation or not
 
I would like a ruling that came during a ball game this weekend. A player went to shoot a short jumpshot, but the ball slipped out of his hands and went straight up. The player then caught the ball and was called for traveling. The official said he passed the ball to himself. I say the play was legal.

Amesman Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:25pm

Sounds like a had to be there (HTBT). But if an official deems a legitimate shot attempt is made, a player may retrieve the ball himself (even before it hits the ground) and begin dribbling again, pass or attempt another shot. (4.44 Sit. B). If he thinks it was simply a pass to get oneself out of a jam, well, then he may call traveling. Judgment call.

jdw3018 Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 657544)
Sounds like a had to be there (HTBT). But if an official deems a legitimate shot attempt is made, a player may retrieve the ball himself (even before it hits the ground) and begin dribbling again, pass or attempt another shot. (4.44 Sit. B). If he thinks it was simply a pass to get oneself out of a jam, well, then he may call traveling. Judgment call.

Not to mention, if the ball is simply lost (fumbled) the player can also get it.

It has to be an intentional drop of the ball to be illegal.

AKOFL Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jlfdixie (Post 657536)
I would like a ruling that came during a ball game this weekend. A player went to shoot a short jumpshot, but the ball slipped out of his hands and went straight up. The player then caught the ball and was called for traveling. The official said he passed the ball to himself. I say the play was legal.

why do you think it was legal? Not saying it was or wasn't just after your thoughts. Did the player catch it while still in the air and then land with the ball? Just like some more details

jlfdixie Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:45pm

The ball simply slipped out of his hands on the way up and came down to him in the same spot. I say it is a fumble. Even it is was ruled a shot attempt, he should have been able to retrieve the ball.

Amesman Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:47pm

you are correct, sir. (or madam!)

AKOFL Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:47pm

A fumble sound like what occured. HTBT probably to be sure but sounds legal. Worked with a official who had not hear of a fumble. I'm sure you can see the issue we ran into.;)

Amesman Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 657556)
A fumble sound like what occured. HTBT probably to be sure but sounds legal. Worked with a official who had not hear of a fumble. I'm sure you can see the issue we ran into.;)

hope you weren't doing MS or other kid ball at the time!

jlfdixie Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 657556)
A fumble sound like what occured. HTBT probably to be sure but sounds legal. Worked with a official who had not hear of a fumble. I'm sure you can see the issue we ran into.;)

I had an official tell me fumbles are in football, so I understand.
:confused:

AKOFL Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 657557)
hope you weren't doing MS or other kid ball at the time!

that would be a long game to be sure. :D

mutantducky Mon Feb 01, 2010 05:58pm

sounds like a fumble and would not be able to dribble.

mbyron Mon Feb 01, 2010 08:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 657565)
sounds like a fumble and would not be able to dribble.

Not necessarily. If the player had not used his dribble prior to fumbling, then he could dribble.

And if the official ruled it a shot, he could also dribble, even if he had dribbled before the shot.

Nevadaref Mon Feb 01, 2010 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jlfdixie (Post 657536)
I would like a ruling that came during a ball game this weekend. A player went to shoot a short jumpshot, but the ball slipped out of his hands and went straight up. The player then caught the ball and was called for traveling. The official said he passed the ball to himself. I say the play was legal.

For a detailed answer to your question, read this previous thread: http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...eling-not.html


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1