The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Just thinkin' (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56726-just-thinkin.html)

Clark Kent Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:36pm

Just thinkin'
 
The other night I was administering an inbound on the baseline. As I was making my counts the player threw the ball towards the corner of the court and I felt the ball brush my hand as I extended it on my count. The ball got to it's destination and we played on with no one even noticing, but me.

This got me to wondering if anyone else had ever had something like that happen? And what if I had knocked the ball down or affected it enough to no get to it's destination. I know that I'm part of the playing court and obviously am out of bounds, but would you penalize a team for (in my case me standing too close or extending my arm to far out) this?

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:41pm

Were you hiding from the player? Were you wearing your cloak of invisibility? :)

I always swing behind the player if I'm using the hand on that side. If they hit me with the ball, it's on them.

Clark Kent Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:45pm

I thought I was out of the way....I don't recall being any closer to the play than ever before. It caught me completely by surprise......maybe I'm the only idiot that it has ever happened to! ;)

fullor30 Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Kent (Post 655596)
The other night I was administering an inbound on the baseline. As I was making my counts the player threw the ball towards the corner of the court and I felt the ball brush my hand as I extended it on my count. The ball got to it's destination and we played on with no one even noticing, but me.

This got me to wondering if anyone else had ever had something like that happen? And what if I had knocked the ball down or affected it enough to no get to it's destination. I know that I'm part of the playing court and obviously am out of bounds, but would you penalize a team for (in my case me standing too close or extending my arm to far out) this?

Third or first:)

You should be away from inbounder obviously, if you felt was your positioning that caused it, bring it back. Some endlines are in close quarters with band, wall, etc. I try and stay somewhat behind.

grunewar Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 655607)
Third or first:)

Ya just had to go there didn't ya.....?

representing Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Clark Kent (Post 655596)
The other night I was administering an inbound on the baseline. As I was making my counts the player threw the ball towards the corner of the court and I felt the ball brush my hand as I extended it on my count. The ball got to it's destination and we played on with no one even noticing, but me.

This got me to wondering if anyone else had ever had something like that happen? And what if I had knocked the ball down or affected it enough to no get to it's destination. I know that I'm part of the playing court and obviously am out of bounds, but would you penalize a team for (in my case me standing too close or extending my arm to far out) this?

What is the proper call for this, if any? Especially if the ball was adversely affected?

Adam Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 655615)
What is the proper call for this, if any? Especially if the ball was adversely affected?

You have a throwin pass that does not go directly onto the court (it hits the official first).

Give it a try.

Mark Padgett Tue Jan 26, 2010 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 655615)
What is the proper call for this, if any? Especially if the ball was adversely affected?

Having the ball hit an official is the same as the ball hitting the floor where the official is standing. If the official is inbounds, then nothing. If the official is OOB, then the ball is considered OOB. It's the same as if the inbounder threw the ball to an OOB spot.

OK, newbies - what if the official has one foot inbounds and one foot OOB and the inbound pass hits the arm. Is the ball considered OOB or inbounds?

representing Tue Jan 26, 2010 02:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 655623)
Having the ball hit an official is the same as the ball hitting the floor where the official is standing. If the official is inbounds, then nothing. If the official is OOB, then the ball is considered OOB. It's the same as if the inbounder threw the ball to an OOB spot.

OK, newbies - what if the official has one foot inbounds and one foot OOB and the inbound pass hits the arm. Is the ball considered OOB or inbounds?

OOB, it would be the same as if a player had one foot inbounds and one foot OOB.

fullor30 Tue Jan 26, 2010 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 655609)
Ya just had to go there didn't ya.....?

ha, kind of like fraternity hazing. I can remember getting scorched here too.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1