The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Using Backboard to Gain An Advantage (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56589-using-backboard-gain-advantage.html)

BillyMac Wed Jan 20, 2010 06:55pm

Also Known As The Ralph Sampson Rule ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 653686)
Using backboard to gain an advantage.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_RVLfSMIB7K...RalphDec80.jpg

just another ref Wed Jan 20, 2010 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 653820)
If it is not to block a shot legitimately the rules says it is. ;)

I guess you missed that part of the rule?

Peace

The rule says it is..........what?

I guess I did miss that part of the rule.

JRutledge Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 653840)
After re-reading my post and not seeing any mention of a player about to hit their head on the backboard, I am sure I am not saying A2 was avoiding hitting his head on the backboard. What I am saying is, A2 used the backboard to stop his forward momentum and keep himself in play for a rebound. Additionally, when A2 landed he did not have to regain his balance, he seemed to land and be ready for the next rebound. It was almost as if this was practiced or at least had been done before.

Other than this type of use of the backboard, I can't think of any way to get an advantage from the backboard except to pull yourself up from the lip on the backside.

The rule reads as "placing a hand(s) on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage" is a class B technical foul.

Once again, can you show me a ruling of any kind that says what you just described is an acceptable T? Rules always say one thing, the casebook and interpretations tell you how to apply the rules. So until you can show me how someone can gain an advantage by playing their hands on the backboard on a rebound, I might go there with you. And in a college game, I am really not going to just call something that is only discussed on this board. I would actually need some play or situation that is backed by a ruling. If I call a T for this, someone is going to ask for an explanation either at the game or later with the supervisor. I am not going to consider a rebounding situation as an advantage at this time. You are not going to keep me from getting suspended or fired. ;)

Let me make another thing clear, is I only listed what the player might have done because I did not see the play (and neither did you). So it is pure speculation what was the reason for the action or how that action really caused and advantage.

Peace

JRutledge Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 653924)
The rule says it is..........what?

I guess I did miss that part of the rule.

Yes you did. ;)

Peace

just another ref Thu Jan 21, 2010 01:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 653963)
Yes you did. ;)

Peace

Must be an Illinois thing.

JRutledge Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 653980)
Must be an Illinois thing.

Must be. ;)

Peace

just another ref Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:15am

Let me see.......Rutledge........multiple meaningless posts..........yep, sounds familiar........definitely not the first time.

JRutledge Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 653924)
The rule says it is..........what?

I guess I did miss that part of the rule.

NCAA Rule 10-6-1g says: "Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing either the backboard to ring or vibrate while the ball is in flight during a try or while the ball is touching the backboard, is on the basket ring, in the basket net or in the cylinder."

Now the NF uses basically the exact same language in Rule 10-3-4a.

I guess you need to read the rules in question. ;)

Peace

JRutledge Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 653984)
Let me see.......Rutledge........multiple meaningless posts..........yep, sounds familiar........definitely not the first time.

Let me put it this way. You can worry about my posts; I will worry about my games and what I actually do in officiating. And I must be doing something right as I work when I want to and where I want to. Having the biggest penis on a discussion board does not mean anything to me, but maybe it does for you.

Are you even working varsity on a regular basis yet? :rolleyes:

Peace

just another ref Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 653985)
NCAA Rule 10-6-1g says: "Intentionally slapping or striking the backboard or causing either the backboard to ring or vibrate while the ball is in flight during a try or while the ball is touching the backboard, is on the basket ring, in the basket net or in the cylinder."

Now the NF uses basically the exact same language in Rule 10-3-4a.

I guess you need to read the rules in question. ;)

Peace

Actually, the rule you quoted is 10-3-4b, which is not the rule in question.
You will note that the word advantage does not appear here.

The question in the OP was about placing a hand on the backboard to gain an advantage. This is specifically forbidden in 10-3-4a.

One of us needs to learn to read all right. :rolleyes:

just another ref Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 653986)
Let me put it this way. You can worry about my posts; I will worry about my games and what I actually do in officiating. And I must be doing something right as I work when I want to and where I want to. Having the biggest penis on a discussion board does not mean anything to me, but maybe it does for you.

Are you even working varsity on a regular basis yet? :rolleyes:

Peace

And this is the post you make when you realize you haven't been making sense?


Nah, he doesn't realize it.

JRutledge Thu Jan 21, 2010 03:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 653988)
And this is the post you make when you realize you haven't been making sense?


Nah, he doesn't realize it.

If I was not making sense, why are you the only person that seems to be confused? No one else cared or made an issue out of what I said, which goes to show that you are more worried about what I specifically have to say and the specifics then trying to have a discussion. Actually this is just a discussion for me, for you it seems something else for you. So you can go on and keep pointing out what you do not understand, I will not be paying attention anymore. You seem really concerned about things I say when half the time I have no idea you even responded to anything on this board. Oh well, keep up the good work. You really made a wonderful point. :D

Peace

just another ref Thu Jan 21, 2010 03:24am

I asked a simple question, based on the first statement you made in this thread.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
Usually that rule has been references in relationship to a shot not a rebound.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 653788)
How is slapping the board on a shot gaining an advantage?

You chose to be sarcastic, and made references to the rule.

".....based on a shot and slapping the backboard on a shot...."

"......If it is not to block a shot legitimately the rules says it is."

Trouble is, it was the wrong rule.

And as usual, you never admit when you're wrong, but go off on another tangent.

Quote:

Let me put it this way. You can worry about my posts; I will worry about my games and what I actually do in officiating. And I must be doing something right as I work when I want to and where I want to. Having the biggest penis on a discussion board does not mean anything to me, but maybe it does for you.

Are you even working varsity on a regular basis yet?

Peace
:rolleyes:

just another ref Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:25pm

But when he finally has nowhere else to go in the thread, he simply disappears.
This has also happened before.

Adam Thu Jan 21, 2010 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 654114)
But when he finally has nowhere else to go in the thread, he simply disappears.
This has also happened before.

Or he's at work or a game today. Or he realized you guys aren't going to come to a meeting on this one; it says nothing of his opinion of his own position.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1