The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Another one for the newbies (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56541-another-one-newbies.html)

Mark Padgett Mon Jan 18, 2010 06:10pm

Another one for the newbies
 
This comes up quite often. How would you newbies handle it?

Team A to inbound on an AP throw-in. Prior to A1 receiving the ball from the official (ball is dead) A2 commits a foul. Does team A lose the arrow when the foul is administered? What about if the official gave the ball to A1 before the foul (ball is live)?

bas2456 Mon Jan 18, 2010 06:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 652929)
This comes up quite often. How would you newbies handle it?

Team A to inbound on an AP throw-in. Prior to A1 receiving the ball from the official (ball is dead) A2 commits a foul. Does team A lose the arrow when the foul is administered? What about if the official gave the ball to A1 before the foul (ball is live)?

I don't have my books, but I'll give it a shot.

With A2 committing a foul while the ball is dead, wouldn't it be a technical foul? Intentional contact during a dead ball is a technical foul, right?

In this case, B would get two shots and the ball. No change to the arrow.

If the ball were live, on the other hand, B would be awarded the ball (or free throws), and the arrow does change. Once the ball is live on an AP throw in, I know that if Team A violates, the arrow changes because the throw in technically ended, does that logic include a foul by Team A as well?

Fire away. Again, I'm without my books.

Indianaref Mon Jan 18, 2010 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 652933)
I know that if Team A violates, the arrow changes because the throw in technically ended, does that logic include a foul by Team A as well?

No. The A/P is not changed.

KJUmp Mon Jan 18, 2010 07:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 652929)
This comes up quite often. How would you newbies handle it?

Team A to inbound on an AP throw-in. Prior to A1 receiving the ball from the official (ball is dead) A2 commits a foul. Does team A lose the arrow when the foul is administered? What about if the official gave the ball to A1 before the foul (ball is live)?

Books are here...but I'm not going to look at them...honest!
1st Sitch:
1) DEAD BALL FOUL= personal technical on A2.
2) Add 1 PF to A2's foul total for the game. (plus 1 tech charged to A2's total of 2 for the game)
3) B shoots 2 technical FT's, with the lane cleared.
4) B then gets the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table.
5) AP arrow does not change. The arrow stays with Team A, as the throw-in did not end due to a Team A violation, it ended because of Team A foul.
2nd sitch:
1) LIVE BALL FOUL=personal foul on A2.
2) No team control on a throw-in
3) If Team B is in bonus, B shoots 1&1.
4) If Team B is not in bonus, B is awarded ball for a throw-in at POI.
5) AP arrow does not change...same reasoning as above.

Adam Mon Jan 18, 2010 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 652955)
Books are here...but I'm not going to look at them...honest!
1st Sitch:
1) DEAD BALL FOUL= personal technical on A2.

I'm guessing you know better, but can you double check this definition?

KJUmp Mon Jan 18, 2010 07:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 652957)
I'm guessing you know better, but can you double check this definition?

Confusing my definitions....
A flagrant foul can be a personal foul or a technical foul.(4-19-4)

But, am I correct that it's a technical foul? (.."contact an opponent during a dead ball")

Still learning Snags....still learning. Thanks for pointing it out. As I said to Mark, wanted to try it with no book. I'll now anxiously await Prof. Padgett's test grade.:)

Camron Rust Mon Jan 18, 2010 08:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 652963)
Confusing my definitions....
A flagrant foul can be a personal foul or a technical foul.(4-19-4)

But, am I correct that it's a technical foul? (.."contact an opponent during a dead ball")

Still learning Snags....still learning. Thanks for pointing it out. As I said to Mark, wanted to try it with no book. I'll now anxiously await Prof. Padgett's test grade.:)

Yes, you are correct that it is a T. The problem in your prior statement was "personal" technical....no such beast. It is either personal or technical but never both.

Also, there is another error in your rulings. See if you can find it. (It is more of a semantics thing and I know what you meant but it is technically incorrect).

BillyMac Mon Jan 18, 2010 08:13pm

Three Blind Mice ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 652963)
I'll now anxiously await Professor Padgett's test grade.

Professor Padgett is the one on the left.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/160/4...d6a39fb177.jpg

KJUmp Mon Jan 18, 2010 08:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 652969)
Professor Padgett is the one on the left.

http://farm1.static.flickr.com/160/4...d6a39fb177.jpg

Priceless!
...."Professor Howard, Professor Padgett, Professor Howard."

KJUmp Mon Jan 18, 2010 08:21pm

Cam:
Snags "nabbed me" on the ...no such thing as a personal technical. I appreciate you catching it also...you got me though on the second "semantics" thing...I can't see it. Want to give me hint?
Thanks

Camron Rust Mon Jan 18, 2010 08:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 652972)
Cam:
Snags "nabbed me" on the ...no such thing as a personal technical. I appreciate you catching it also...you got me though on the second "semantics" thing...I can't see it. Want to give me hint?
Thanks

How should it be recorded in the book? How does it count towards disqualification?

KJUmp Mon Jan 18, 2010 09:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 652973)
How should it be recorded in the book? How does it count towards disqualification?

Charged To: Player A2
Counts Toward: 1) 2 Technicals 2) 5 Personals 3) Team-foul count

Is that what you were looking for?

mbyron Tue Jan 19, 2010 07:56am

There's another error as well.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 19, 2010 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 652955)
Books are here...but I'm not going to look at them...honest!
1st Sitch:
1) DEAD BALL FOUL= personal technical on A2.
2) Add 1 PF to A2's foul total for the game. (plus 1 tech charged to A2's total of 2 for the game)
3) B shoots 2 technical FT's, with the lane cleared.
4) B then gets the ball for a throw-in at the division line opposite the table.
5) AP arrow does not change. The arrow stays with Team A, as the throw-in did not end due to a Team A violation, it ended because of Team A foul.
2nd sitch:
1) LIVE BALL FOUL=personal foul on A2.
2) No team control on a throw-in
3) If Team B is in bonus, B shoots 1&1.
4) If Team B is not in bonus, B is awarded ball for a throw-in at POI.
5) AP arrow does not change...same reasoning as above.

You only made two minor mistakes. You should write "player technical" or "individual technical" as that is really what you mean here by "personal" and reserve that word for the category of fouls which are not "technical."

In the second situation, Team B would be awarded the ball at the nearest OOB spot to the location of the foul if not in the bonus. That is different from the POI.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 19, 2010 08:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KJUmp (Post 652986)
Charged To: Player A2
Counts Toward: 1) 2 Technicals 2) 5 Personals 3) Team-foul count

Is that what you were looking for?

Nope.

Also it is not five personal fouls. It is five individual player fouls. These five can be a combination of personal and technical fouls.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1