![]() |
NCAA/Highschool rule question
Quick question for the refs out there.
I play in a league where they have a rule set that is a mixture of college and high school rules. The following situation occurred yesterday in our game: Team A attempts a shot and is fouled in the act, their player is awarded 2 foul shots. BEFORE Team A shoots a free throw, Team B is called for a technical foul. The refs had the player who was fouled shoot 4 free throws in a row while Team B stood at the half court line. They then gave Team A the possession after all the free throws. Was this called correctly? |
Quote:
In college, it depends on which sort of technical foul was called. Most likely, it would have been different. How were you thinking it should have been handled? |
by HS rules its absolutely right - 2 shots for the shooting foul and 2 shots for the T - then their ball as well.
by college its right depending on the type of T - the only difference would be wheter or not its team A possesion or POI (at least thats my understanding from camp this past summer). |
There's no rules requirements for the players to stand at half-court during the FT's. They must be outside the 3-point arc and above the FT line extended to the sideline.
Another myth..... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Myth Enacted
Quote:
Hasn't led to any problems that I've observed. Just kinda funny that they usually follow the myth without ever being asked to do it. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'm nobody's pet. |
Quote:
My apologies to Willard too. |
Quote:
|
I never tell the players to go to the half court line, but if they want to do that, more power to them. I'll see the odd time where a coach actually knows the rule (:eek:) and takes advantage of the dead time.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15pm. |