The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56403-backcourt.html)

fullor30 Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:42am

backcourt?
 
A1 from backcourt heaves a 3/4 court obvious pass to A2 in front court which slams off backboard and is retrieved by A1 in backcourt.

I'm assuming backcourt violation? No books with me.

CoachP Tue Jan 12, 2010 10:52am

If it didn't touch any player, yes a violation...9-9-2?

fullor30 Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 650524)
A1 from backcourt heaves a 3/4 court obvious pass to A2 in front court which slams off backboard and is retrieved by A1 in backcourt.

I'm assuming backcourt violation? No books with me.


Here you go fullofit

9-9

ART. 2 . . . While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the
ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball
touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to
touch it in the backcourt.

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:32pm

Unless you consider this a "try."

tjones1 Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:36pm

Yes, violation. 9-9-2

While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.

fullor30 Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650603)
Unless you consider this a "try."

No, I mentioned an obvious pass.

Welpe Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:38pm

I had been wondering about a practical application of this rule. Makes sense now.

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 650612)
No, I mentioned an obvious pass.

Yep, I know. But if B1, standing at the arc, threw an "obvious pass" to B2 but it hit the rim and bounced back to him, what would you call? Assuming B2 dribbled before and dribbles afterwards.

I'm expanding the discussion now. :)

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 650618)
I had been wondering about a practical application of this rule. Makes sense now.

Also bounce passes, or the ball hitting an official and bouncing backwards.

fullor30 Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650619)
Yep, I know. But if B1, standing at the arc, threw an "obvious pass" to B2 but it hit the rim and bounced back to him, what would you call? Assuming B2 dribbled before and dribbles afterwards.

I'm expanding the discussion now. :)

I guess you'd have your choice of calls ala carte. I doubt anyone knows the rules, and there would be more squawking should you call a BC violation especially if it hit the rim. I'm calling BC, just because I can, and it's the correct call:)

By the way, It would A1 and A2, unless I'm missing something.

Welpe Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:48pm

Good point on the official. I am one ugly looking floor though. :eek:

Bounce pass as in a pass with a lot of backspin on it?

tjones1 Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 650631)
Bounce pass as in a pass with a lot of backspin on it?

If it bounced in the frontcourt then back to the backcourt and the team in control touched it - violation.

bob jenkins Tue Jan 12, 2010 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by welpe (Post 650631)
good point on the official. I am one ugly looking floor though. :eek:

Bounce pass as in a pass with a lot of backspin on it?

9-9-2


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1