The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Free throw foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56402-free-throw-foul.html)

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 650681)
If def team fouls, B2 fouls A2 then what. Does A get the ball, if in bonus does A shoot. In the OP if it is bonus would the team be shooting?
too much tea, woooz

If the defensive team fouls, then yes you'd shoot the free throws if they're in the bonus. If not, then yes, A would get the ball after the initial free throws.
If in the bonus, clear the lane for the first set of free throws, and line them up for the final set.
If not in the bonus, clear the lane for the free throws and give A a spot throwin on the end line.

As for your final question, see posts #7 and #8.

rockyroad Tue Jan 12, 2010 02:11pm

Clear the lane and finish the first bonus...line them up for the second bonus, or give A the ball for throw-in on the baseline...err, endline...err, division line between the playing court area and the wall.

Snaqs reads and types faster than I do...

M&M Guy Tue Jan 12, 2010 02:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 650686)
Snaqs reads and types faster than I do...

Yea, how does that happen? Don't you have a shorter span between your brain and fingers than he does? Shouldn't that mean information spews out of your fingers quicker than someone who is taller? :confused:

bob jenkins Tue Jan 12, 2010 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 650681)
If def team fouls, B2 fouls A2 then what. Does A get the ball, if in bonus does A shoot. In the OP if it is bonus would the team be shooting?
too much tea, woooz


It (and the OP) are the same as any off-ball foul during / near the time of a try.

IF the foul is by the defense, as in this play, "continuation" (sic) applies, then enforce the foul.

Adam Tue Jan 12, 2010 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 650727)
It (and the OP) are the same as any off-ball foul during / near the time of a try.

IF the foul is by the defense, as in this play, "continuation" (sic) applies, then enforce the foul.

Bob's right, I forgot the shooting motion had started.

Amesman Tue Jan 12, 2010 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650732)
Bob's right, ... .

As if this is ever in doubt? :cool:

bob jenkins Tue Jan 12, 2010 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 650767)
As if this is ever in doubt? :cool:

It should always be in doubt.

just another ref Tue Jan 12, 2010 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 650587)
Hah - what if team B is in the bonus?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650590)
Not an issue on team control fouls. :)


If an official incorrectly started to the other end to line up for free throws, chseagle would sprint onto the court and wrestle him to the ground.

bigdogrunnin Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:05am

Sort of the same . . .
 
but not exactly.

I am fairly certain what the responses will be, but wanted to poll the gallery. Happened to a fellow official tonight . . . not me.

NFHS Rule Set, Varsity Boys: A1 shooting first shot of 1-and-1 and makes the basket. Immediately following the basket (ball has just passed through the net), B2 steps to defend against A1, who was shooting, and commits a pushing foul (aggressive, but not flagrant). Should this be administered as indicated above (by Snaqwells)? Thanks. Specific rules reference too please (NFHS and NCAA).

Official called foul, but ruled Technical (ruled it as dead ball contact). Cleared the lane, shot the 2nd shot, then shot the Technical (same player shot FT). Ball inbounded to Team A at mid-court.

just another ref Wed Jan 13, 2010 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin (Post 650869)
but not exactly.

I am fairly certain what the responses will be, but wanted to poll the gallery. Happened to a fellow official tonight . . . not me.

NFHS Rule Set, Varsity Boys: A1 shooting first shot of 1-and-1 and makes the basket. Immediately following the basket (ball has just passed through the net), B2 steps to defend against A1, who was shooting, and commits a pushing foul (aggressive, but not flagrant). Should this be administered as indicated above (by Snaqwells)? Thanks. Specific rules reference too please (NFHS and NCAA).

Official called foul, but ruled Technical (ruled it as dead ball contact). Cleared the lane, shot the 2nd shot, then shot the Technical (same player shot FT). Ball inbounded to Team A at mid-court.

You say it was not flagrant, so official must have thought it was intentional, or there should have been no foul at all.

Yes, this is the correct administration.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1