The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player(s) leaving the court (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56384-player-s-leaving-court.html)

hawk65 Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:44pm

Player(s) leaving the court
 
NFHS. 9-3-3 says "A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason." The case book talks about a player leaving the floor to avoid a pick by the opponent or to use a pick set by a teammate(s) or to stop the clock to negate an advantage by the opponent. Illustration 9-3-3 shows a player going out of bounds to brush a defender into a screen set by teammates. What if a player is running his offense, passing to a guard at the top of the key or to a wing near the endline then running through the zone and wandering out of bounds on the back side of a zone? He's not scraping a defender into a screen, he's simply running through the zone, dipping anywhere from a foot to as much as three feet beyond the end line, running 3-5 steps out of bounds then entering the other side of the court, similar to the arc shown on NFHS Simplified and Illustrated Illustration 9-3-3 without any screens/picks. Is that a violation? Where is "unauthorized reason" defined? Would you call it?

I titled this "Player(s)..." (plural) because it happened several times with different players. I warned the first time ("Stay on the court!") then called a violation the next time. Subsequently, they continued to do the same thing so I warned 2-3 times more (didn't want to over-officiate) but finally called another violation. Partner said I shouldn't call it - it wasn't a violation. He also said he was coached to set a pick with one foot out-of-bounds (clearly, not just foot on the line) to force an opponent who wanted to go around the screen to go out-of-bounds. Would you call that on the screener if you saw it?

fullor30 Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:50pm

:rolleyes:
Quote:

Originally Posted by hawk65 (Post 650118)
NFHS. 9-3-3 says "A player shall not leave the floor for an unauthorized reason." The case book talks about a player leaving the floor to avoid a pick by the opponent or to use a pick set by a teammate(s) or to stop the clock to negate an advantage by the opponent. Illustration 9-3-3 shows a player going out of bounds to brush a defender into a screen set by teammates. What if a player is running his offense, passing to a guard at the top of the key or to a wing near the endline then running through the zone and wandering out of bounds on the back side of a zone? He's not scraping a defender into a screen, he's simply running through the zone, dipping anywhere from a foot to as much as three feet beyond the end line, running 3-5 steps out of bounds then entering the other side of the court, similar to the arc shown on NFHS Simplified and Illustrated Illustration 9-3-3 without any screens/picks. Is that a violation? Where is "unauthorized reason" defined? Would you call it?

I titled this "Player(s)..." (plural) because it happened several times with different players. I warned the first time ("Stay on the court!") then called a violation the next time. Subsequently, they continued to do the same thing so I warned 2-3 times more (didn't want to over-officiate) but finally called another violation. Partner said I shouldn't call it - it wasn't a violation. He also said he was coached to set a pick with one foot out-of-bounds (clearly, not just foot on the line) to force an opponent who wanted to go around the screen to go out-of-bounds. Would you call that on the screener if you saw it?

Do you have a foul maximum? Say 20 for the game? anymore than that and you're 'over officiating'? :-)

Adam Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:51pm

One foot out of bounds, I'd probably let it go if it's the player running through the lane. If he's got both feet out, go ahead and call it. I don't mind you warning once before you call it, but I wouldn't revert to a warning again once you've called it.

tjones1 Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:54pm

Yes, it's a violation....and I would call it too. Good call.

Player with a foot on the line I probably wouldn't call. If he had both feet on the line, I might call it... I'd have to see it... I'm not sure what advantage the player would be gaining by doing so.. but if they did, I would call it.

Agree with Snaq, once you've warned them and then call it... continue calling it.

Adam Mon Jan 11, 2010 01:01pm

I'll also add that if a player sets a screen with a foot out of bounds, this might be a violation as well. He's purposefully leaving the court and getting an advantage. I'll have to think on this one.

And I don't care how your partner was coached.
1. Rules change.
2. Coaches teach against the rules all the time.

grunewar Mon Jan 11, 2010 01:04pm

What?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650128)
2. Coaches teach against the rules all the time.

Shocked I tell ya. Shocked, I am! :p

Adam Mon Jan 11, 2010 01:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 650129)
Shocked I tell ya. Shocked, I am! :p

I'm sure it's purely inadvertent.

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 11, 2010 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 650124)
Player with a foot on the line I probably wouldn't call. If he had both feet on the line, I might call it... I'd have to see it... I'm not sure what advantage the player would be gaining by doing so.. but if they did, I would call it.

Is the player setting the screen OOB legally or illegally? If you feel that the kid is gaining an advantage by setting the screen with a foot OOB, call him for being OOB illegally and give him a "T" for purposely delaying his return. You can make the language of 10-3-2 fit the call. It's always a judgment call if you feel that the player is OOB illegally, and/or is delaying their return.

Irregardless...if there's any contact at all though, it would be an automatic block for an illegal screen. And I'd mention that to the coach right after his player told me that he was being coached to set screeens with a foot OOB.

tjones1 Mon Jan 11, 2010 01:41pm

Good points, JR... noted.

Forksref Mon Jan 11, 2010 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 650129)
Shocked I tell ya. Shocked, I am! :p

Assuming the coach can tell me what color the rule book is this year.

tjones1 Mon Jan 11, 2010 02:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Forksref (Post 650151)
Assuming the coach can tell me what color the rule book is this year.

Actually, I honestly couldn't tell you what color this year's rule book is. :mad: :mad:

In Illinois, we have gone to a rotation and we only get new books every few years in various sports. Grrrr. Although, we do get a nice sheet of paper that has the changes.

doubleringer Mon Jan 11, 2010 02:40pm

I agree that it is good game management to try to talk the players out of leaving the floor, but if they don't listen, you gotta use the whistle. If they are going to continue to travel, you don't stop calling travelling do you? If you don't call it, why would they stop?

As far as the screener, I'd ignore it, but if there is contact on the screen, it would be illegal as the player does not have both feet on the playing court. I would guess after you call the illegal screen once or twice, the coach would change the way his players are setting that screen, at least for the rest of the night.

zm1283 Mon Jan 11, 2010 05:01pm

I called this for the first time this year. It happened in a BV game where A1 was going around a screen that was set right under the basket. He was a good 2-3 feet outside of the endline, then he came back in and caught a pass and started a try. I hit the whistle and called the violation, and to my surprise, A's coach didn't say a word.

Adam Mon Jan 11, 2010 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 650255)
I called this for the first time this year. It happened in a BV game where A1 was going around a screen that was set right under the basket. He was a good 2-3 feet outside of the endline, then he came back in and caught a pass and started a try. I hit the whistle and called the violation, and to my surprise, A's coach didn't say a word.

Probably because he thought you called the dreaded "first to touch" violation.

BillyMac Mon Jan 11, 2010 08:04pm

Like Mark Padgett, Lives In Washington, They're All Hippy Tree Huggers Out There ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 650161)
We only get new books every few years in various sports. Grrrr. Although, we do get a nice sheet of paper that has the changes.

I blame those damn tree huggers.

Adam Mon Jan 11, 2010 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 650310)
I blame those damn tree huggers.

More than likely it's a budget issue rather than any concerns for the environment.

just another ref Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650133)
I'm sure it's purely inadvertent.

Part of what they teach is inspired by the officiating.

"If they're not gonna call 3 seconds, stay in there." etc.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:35am

2004-05 POINTS OF EMPHASIS

3. Player positioning/status. Players must play the game within the confines of the playing court. Otherwise, a tremendous advantage is gained by allowing a team or player more space than allowed. There are two specific areas of concern:

A. Players on the court. Last year's emphasis ensured that defensive players obtain legal guarding position while on the playing court and not while out of bounds. The same principle is in place for all players. Too often, players are leaving the court for unauthorized reasons. An all-too-common example is an offensive player getting around a screen or defensive player by running out of bounds. That is not legal and gives a tremendous advantage to the offense. Officials must enforce the rule that is already in place. It is a technical foul. Coaches benefit the game by teaching players to play on the court.

The committee is also concerned about bench personnel leaving the bench, sometimes during a live ball. Heading into the hallway to get a drink or sitting up in the stands with friends or family, even for a short period of time, are not authorized reasons unless they are medically related. Coaches must ensure that bench personnel remain on the bench.

B. Legal guarding position along a sideline or endline. Last year's editorial change that required a defensive player to obtain legal guarding position while on the playing court met with concerns. In fact, the rule had not changed. Confusion arose regarding a defensive player's movements after legal guarding position was obtained. The committee clarified the long-standing rule that after legal guarding position is obtained; the defender may move to maintain it within the rules. A defender's feet do not have to be on the floor to maintain legal guarding position, whether or not a sideline or endline is involved. As long as the defender obtains legal guarding position while on the court and continues to have inbounds status, a charging foul is called if there is contact deemed a foul.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 650135)
Is the player setting the screen OOB legally or illegally? If you feel that the kid is gaining an advantage by setting the screen with a foot OOB, call him for being OOB illegally and give him a "T" for purposely delaying his return. You can make the language of 10-3-2 fit the call. It's always a judgment call if you feel that the player is OOB illegally, and/or is delaying their return.

I believe that the OOB violation is most appropriate here as the offensive team would lose possession. That was the intent of the NFHS committee when changing the penalty from a T to a violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee (Post 650135)
Irregardless...if there's any contact at all though, it would be an automatic block for an illegal screen. And I'd mention that to the coach right after his player told me that he was being coached to set screeens with a foot OOB.

1. Regardless is the proper word.
2. I don't agree that the screen is automatically illegal and a block due to the player's OOB positioning. If you check the rules book, you will see that the requirement to maintain inbounds status is for GUARDING (4-23), not SCREENING (4-40). Therefore, the proper call is an OOB violation on the screener per 9-3-3, and hence, the ball becomes immediately dead at that point and there is no foul unless the contact is intentional or flagrant.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 650161)
Actually, I honestly couldn't tell you what color this year's rule book is. :mad: :mad:

In Illinois, we have gone to a rotation and we only get new books every few years in various sports. Grrrr. Although, we do get a nice sheet of paper that has the changes.

Go online and download a pdf copy.

mbyron Tue Jan 12, 2010 07:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 650398)
2. I don't agree that the screen is automatically illegal and a block due to the player's OOB positioning. If you check the rules book, you will see that the requirement to maintain inbounds status is for GUARDING (4-23), not SCREENING (4-40). ....

This one surprised me. Why wouldn't 9-3-3 apply to screening?

Nevadaref Wed Jan 13, 2010 05:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 650476)
This one surprised me. Why wouldn't 9-3-3 apply to screening?

It does. The text of 4-23 does not. So what I am saying is that an violation for leaving the court under 9-3-3 should be called in the situation of a player setting a screen with one foot clearly OOB instead of penalizing this with a blocking foul. Does that make sense to you? Afterall, you are our resident language guy.

mbyron Wed Jan 13, 2010 07:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 650899)
It does. The text of 4-23 does not. So what I am saying is that an violation for leaving the court under 9-3-3 should be called in the situation of a player setting a screen with one foot clearly OOB instead of penalizing this with a blocking foul. Does that make sense to you? Afterall, you are our resident language guy.

Yes, it makes sense. And "after all" is two words. :p

So here's a question for you: on the screen you're calling a 9-3-3 violation, but in a guarding situation you're calling a block. But the guard stepped out before contacting the dribbler, and thus violated 9-3-3 too. Why wouldn't you call a 9-3-3 violation for both?

Nevadaref Wed Jan 13, 2010 07:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 650913)
Yes, it makes sense. And "after all" is two words. :p

I did not know that. I learned something. Thank you.

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 650913)
So here's a question for you: on the screen you're calling a 9-3-3 violation, but in a guarding situation you're calling a block. But the guard stepped out before contacting the dribbler, and thus violated 9-3-3 too. Why wouldn't you call a 9-3-3 violation for both?

Because the screener is generally positioned OOB for a longer period of time prior to contact occurring than a guard is.

IMO the time lag is an important factor.

mbyron Wed Jan 13, 2010 08:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 650915)
Because the screener is generally positioned OOB for a longer period of time prior to contact occurring than a guard is.

IMO the time lag is an important factor.

Surprised again, as that principle is not in any of the relevant rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1