The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   OOB - Both Players Have Possession? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56378-oob-both-players-have-possession.html)

CDurham Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:01am

OOB - Both Players Have Possession?
 
Player A1 is holding the ball. Player B1 approaches and touches the ball and his back foot contacts the sideline.
-OOB on B1, Team A will get a throw-in??

The ball is loose and player A1 and player B1 dive for the ball, when both grab ahold (before a jump ball can be called) they both contact the sideline; or just player A1 contacts the sideline.
-First situation) Go to the arrow?
-Second) OOB on A1, Team B gets a throw-in?

Thanks!

biggravy Mon Jan 11, 2010 10:08am

I don't have my book in front of me here at work but if I was on the court right now (no rule book) that sounds right to me on all three.

bob jenkins Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 650035)
Player A1 is holding the ball. Player B1 approaches and touches the ball and his back foot contacts the sideline.
-OOB on B1, Team A will get a throw-in??

The ball is loose and player A1 and player B1 dive for the ball, when both grab ahold (before a jump ball can be called) they both contact the sideline; or just player A1 contacts the sideline.
-First situation) Go to the arrow?
-Second) OOB on A1, Team B gets a throw-in?

Thanks!


3 for 3.

Adam Mon Jan 11, 2010 11:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 650035)
The ball is loose and player A1 and player B1 dive for the ball, when both grab ahold (before a jump ball can be called) they both contact the sideline;

Chances are, one contacted the sideline before the other.

Back In The Saddle Tue Jan 12, 2010 12:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 650072)
Chances are, one contacted the sideline before the other.

This is one case where you might not want to split that hair. I've had this happen to me once. Everybody saw it happen. It was an easier sell to come up with the jump ball.

Nevadaref Tue Jan 12, 2010 01:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CDurham (Post 650035)
Player A1 is holding the ball. Player B1 approaches and touches the ball and his back foot contacts the sideline.
-OOB on B1, Team A will get a throw-in??

The ball is loose and player A1 and player B1 dive for the ball, when both grab ahold (before a jump ball can be called) they both contact the sideline; or just player A1 contacts the sideline.
-First situation) Go to the arrow?
-Second) OOB on A1, Team B gets a throw-in?

Thanks!

Yep, you have the correct understanding in all three cases.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1