The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or not (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56308-travel-not.html)

cmhjordan23 Thu Jan 07, 2010 03:54pm

Travel or not
 
Once a player has established a pivot foot, I understand that player may lift the pivot on a pass or shot. Obiviously if that pivot foot returns to the floor it is a travel. My question does the same hold if one drags their pivot foot on a pass or is that automatically a travel?

Adam Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:09pm

travel

showbo Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:19pm

Yeah, pivot cannot move an inch. Travel everytime!

Rough game I had a few weeks ago, the floor was so slick, I even slid almost everytime I came to a fast stop. So it was rough, got people yelling travel travel, hell EVERY play could have been a travel on that court. We just called the ones that looked like murder.


Oscar

budjones05 Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:28pm

Sounds like a travel to me

A Pennsylvania Coach Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by showbo (Post 649234)
Yeah, pivot cannot move an inch. Travel everytime!

Rough game I had a few weeks ago, the floor was so slick, I even slid almost everytime I came to a fast stop. So it was rough, got people yelling travel travel, hell EVERY play could have been a travel on that court. We just called the ones that looked like murder.


Oscar

It can move an inch or a yard. It just can't retouch the floor when it moves. So a classic "drag" is definitely a travel. But if the player picks up the pivot foot but doesn't return it to the floor before passing or shooting, that is legal.

mbyron Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 649245)
It can move an inch or a yard. It just can't retouch the floor when it moves. So a classic "drag" is definitely a travel. But if the player picks up the pivot foot but doesn't return it to the floor before passing or shooting, that is legal.

You're conflating two distinct provisions of the rule: one about lifting the foot, and the other about moving it while it's still in contact with the floor (dragging it).

Adam Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 649248)
You're conflating two distinct provisions of the rule: one about lifting the foot, and the other about moving it while it's still in contact with the floor (dragging it).

How is he conflating two rules which he stated were different?

Mark Padgett Thu Jan 07, 2010 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 649248)
You're conflating two distinct provisions of the rule: one about lifting the foot, and the other about moving it while it's still in contact with the floor (dragging it).

Extra points to mbyron for using "conflating" in a sentence - and using it properly! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1