![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Hmmm... Coming 10 feet onto the court and catching a live ball which was passed by the opposing team--Is this unacceptable behavior? |
|
|||
|
Yes, it is unacceptable behavior. But I don't think it is so far over the line that it warrants immediate ejection.
As always, just my $0.02.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 12: Team B has just scored to go up by three points with time running out in the fourth quarter. Player A1 inbounds the ball to A2 close to the sideline of Team B's bench. A2 releases a three-point try just prior to the horn sounding. Substitute B7 leaves the bench area, enters the court and blocks the shot. RULING: B7 shall be charged with two technical fouls and ejected. One technical foul is assessed for entering the court without permission and one for unsporting conduct. Any member of Team A may shoot the four free throws for the technical fouls. The results of these free throws will determine if the game is over or going into overtime. COMMENT: Two technical fouls must be assessed in this situation. Otherwise, the team committing the infraction would benefit from the act. (10-4-1; 10-4-2) |
|
||||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Nevada this may have been asked before but do you have a cross reference rolodex of rules that points you back to an appropriate year for a rule interp. Or are you just that amazing?
__________________
CALL WHAT YOU SEE AND SEE WHAT YOU CALL |
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
1. Leaving bench - T 2. Unsporting - T 3. Sixth on the court - T 4. Not properly equipped. - T Should have been 4 T's
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
10.2.1 SITUATION B: Team A substitute No. 24: (a) reports to the scorer, but enters the court without being beckoned; or (b) goes directly from the bench and onto the court without being beckoned. RULING: One technical foul is charged to No. 24 in (a) and (b). In (b), even though No. 24 failed to comply with both requirements, only one foul is charged. |
|
|||
|
Nah, it doesn't mention anything about the kid touching the ball or interfering with play. The OP has the coach not only on the inbounds area of the floor, but also catching a pass made by the opposing team.
Quote:
So whether or not you agree that the situation warrants two technical fouls, your citation is NOT a better fit for the OP. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Coach on court | closely_guarded | Basketball | 17 | Fri Oct 28, 2005 08:22am |
| Coach on court | closely_guarded | Basketball | 13 | Fri Mar 18, 2005 03:14pm |
| Coach Dies on Court | OverAndBack | Basketball | 0 | Sat Nov 20, 2004 07:40am |
| Coach on the court instructing | LepTalBldgs | Basketball | 5 | Mon Dec 16, 2002 02:34pm |
| assistant coach in a whellchair on the court | hey_zebra | Basketball | 11 | Thu Feb 17, 2000 03:52pm |