![]() |
Count it?
Here is the call:
Player A is driving the lane and going in for a shot. Player B is guarding and fouls him with a push. The push causes Player A to take THREE steps and then he shoots and make the shot. Does the shot count? In our game last night the ref counted the shot and I asked calmly for an explanation. I was told that 'in my estimation the push caused him to take an extra step so I counted the basket'. Isn't traveling always traveling no matter if you get pushed or not? Any explanation would be helpful. Thanks |
In the situation as you describe it I would wave off the shot and award 2 free throws.
|
Quote:
No basket, two shots. |
Quote:
If he was pushed hard enough maybe intentional foul as well? Was there any play on the ball? |
The ref called a 'push' it was a body bump that caused the foul and he continued in his motion but traveled before shooting. The ref admitted he took an extra step but said he allowed it because of the foul. My point is that you can't just make up a rule. You only get two steps. PERIOD right?
|
Quote:
I'm convinced that many of the officials in this area call a foul "on the floor" when it should really be a shooting foul. The act of shooting doesn't just refer to going up with the ball. Unfortunately, many of the coaches have the same misunderstanding and at least once a week think I'm crazy for awarding shots (or a goal and a shot) on a play that is clearly (within the rules) a foul in the act of shooting. |
Only in the NBA
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And I agree, I would have waved off the shot and awarded two free throws. |
Driving the Lane equals Beginning of Shot?
I'm reading driving the lane as not yet being in the act of shooting. Could it not just as easily be a drive and dish off? The situation wasn't written as fouled in the act of shooting.
Anyway, most of us appear to be of similar mind, no basket - two shots. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But if it's Gilbert Arenas or George Gervin, then shot all the way. |
Arenas and the word "shot"
I get it ...
|
Quote:
|
Lets just say that for a moment that the player was in the act of shooting but he was bumped which caused him to travel and then make the shot. This is what the referree told me happened. So I asked how can you count the shot if he traveled? The response was 'because he was pushed I gave him an extra step." You can't just change the rules of the game because of a foul... right?
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56pm. |