The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Valid rule interpreation RE: backcourt violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56245-valid-rule-interpreation-re-backcourt-violation.html)

jdmara Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:09am

Valid rule interpreation RE: backcourt violation
 
2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

Is this interpretation still valid?

OT: Why isn't the Past Interps Archive pinned anymore?? It's not pinned anymore in any forum :(

-Josh

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:15am

Can of worms, Josh.

tjones1 Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:19am

Yes, it's still valid.

But as Snaq said, you are opening a can of worms. :)

The agruing point is that A1 is the last to touch in the frontcourt and the first to touch in the backcourt at the same time.

jdmara Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:27am

I promise I'm not trying to open a can of worms. I couldn't remember if they came out with a different interpretation or not. We had this happen in the first half of our second game tonight and we discussed it over halftime. I didn't have my interpretations with me but I knew I had previously read this situation. Please lock this thread. Thanks

-Josh

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 648423)
I promise I'm not trying to open a can of worms. I couldn't remember if they came out with a different interpretation or not. We had this happen in the first half of our second game tonight and we discussed it over halftime. I didn't have my interpretations with me but I knew I had previously read this situation. Please lock this thread. Thanks

-Josh

Did you call the violation? The prevailing opinion here is that this runs contrary to the rule.

jdmara Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:28am

Forgive me if I reopened the topic. I know it was a hot topic but I thought they truly came out with another interpretation but I couldn't find one.

-Josh

jdmara Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648424)
Did you call the violation? The prevailing opinion here is that this runs contrary to the rule.

I was C and I did not go out of my PCA to call it.

-Josh

jdmara Tue Jan 05, 2010 01:15am

Is there a contradictory interpretation for NCAA M or W? Just out of curiosity. Thanks

-Josh

just another ref Tue Jan 05, 2010 01:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 648418)
Is this interpretation still valid?

It never was valid.

Camron Rust Tue Jan 05, 2010 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 648425)
Forgive me if I reopened the topic. I know it was a hot topic but I thought they truly came out with another interpretation but I couldn't find one.

-Josh

Recent versions of rules committees have been notorious for coming up with rulings that are either not support by or are even contradictory with the rules....and they don't correct them either.

mbyron Tue Jan 05, 2010 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 648423)
Please lock this thread. Thanks

-Josh

If you wish to delete the thread, just delete your opening post. The entire thread will go.

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2010 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 648433)
It never was valid.

That is not necessarily a unanimous opinion.

rwest Tue Jan 05, 2010 09:35am

I agree
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648470)
That is not necessarily a unanimous opinion.

The rules committee's job is to come up with the rules and inform the officiating community what they are. They go about this in one of several ways:

1. Rule Book
2. Case Play
3. Official Interpretations
4. Camps/Clinics

Sometimes the written documents don't agree. So my question is which has precedence? That's not always an easy question to answer. The front of the Case book states that the case play interpretations have the approval of the rules committee. That leds me to believe that they are just as authoritative as the rule book. So when a case play differs from the rule book what do we do? Some will suggest we use the rule book, some the case play. However, we don't know which is actually correct. They could have forgotten to update the rule book to reflect the changes made to the case play. Or they could have missed a case play that needed updating after making a rules change.

As an example from my ASA Softball Rule Book from a few years back. The rule on dropped third strikes was written poorly. It led the reader to believe that the batter couldn't run with two outs when 1st base was occupied. The actual rule is with 2 outs you can advance any time on a dropped third strike whether 1st base is occupied or not. However, the case plays and the official interpretations from the camps disagreed with the written rule. This is an example of where the case play took precedence over the rule.

However, when it comes to Official Interpretations, these often come out after the rule books and case books have gone to press. I believe this takes precedence over the rule book and case book. We may not like it and it may not agree with the rule book, but until the Fed or my state association comes out and says the interpretation is wrong, then I'd have to go with the Official Interpretation. The Fed needs to come up with a order of precedence so when these disrepancies come up, we know which one we should enforce.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 648481)
The Fed needs to come up with a order of precedence so when these disrepancies come up, we know which one we should enforce.

That would involve acknowledging the discrepancy.
In the mean time, I won't be making this call because:
1. It's contrary to the rule.
2. It's not the expected call on this play.

rwest Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:42am

Yes, however....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648489)
That would involve acknowledging the discrepancy.
In the mean time, I won't be making this call because:
1. It's contrary to the rule.
2. It's not the expected call on this play.

It would acknowledge that there maybe discrepancies and when there are here is the order of precedence. They could just make a blanket statement. I understand your view point on this particular rule. However, you are missing my point. When an official interpretation comes out after the books have been published, how can we assume that they made a bad ruling? How can we assume that they didn't realize the interpretation was contrary to the rule? It's my position that the Official Rules Interpretation takes precedence over the rule book and case plays. It's a way for them to correct mistakes in the rule book or case book without repubishing the books. We are not on the rules committee so we can't assume the interpretation is not what they wanted just because it disagrees with the rule book.

And, for the record, I don't like the interpretation either. It is contrary to logic, in my opinion. However, I do believe this is what the rules committee wants even though the rule book is written contrary to the interp.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 648497)
It would acknowledge that there maybe discrepancies and when there are here is the order of precedence. They could just make a blanket statement. I understand your view point on this particular rule. However, you are missing my point. When an official interpretation comes out after the books have been published, how can we assume that they made a bad ruling? How can we assume that they didn't realize the interpretation was contrary to the rule? It's my position that the Official Rules Interpretation takes precedence over the rule book and case plays. It's a way for them to correct mistakes in the rule book or case book without repubishing the books. We are not on the rules committee so we can't assume the interpretation is not what they wanted just because it disagrees with the rule book.

And, for the record, I don't like the interpretation either. It is contrary to logic, in my opinion. However, I do believe this is what the rules committee wants even though the rule book is written contrary to the interp.

How about using the most recent publication as the one with precedence. In that case, it's the rule book. They had an off-season to change the rule if they wanted to.

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648489)
That would involve acknowledging the discrepancy.
In the mean time, I won't be making this call because:
1. It's contrary to the rule.
2. It's not the expected call on this play.

I can agree with you on #2, but #1 is up to interpretation.

rwest Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:55am

I can buy that
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648498)
How about using the most recent publication as the one with precedence. In that case, it's the rule book. They had an off-season to change the rule if they wanted to.

I can agree with that, however, it has taken a rules committee years before changing a rule. So, although you have a point, I can still see where the rules committee might still want this interp to be enforced. Really, the Fed needs to have a clear process and let the officiating community now what it is. Does an Official Interp override the rule book? Does the fact that the next rule book, published after the Official Interp came out, wasn't changed mean the interp is no longer in effect? When do official interps expire and are they communicated to the officiating community as such?

My main point is this, when an official interpretation comes out after the rulebooks are pubished, we don't have the luxury to ignore it just because it doesn't agree with the rule book. The official interp takes precedence, IMHO, over the rule book.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648499)
I can agree with you on #2, but #1 is up to interpretation.

I'm not sure how, to be honest.
The rule says a team must be the last to touch the ball "before" it goes into the back court and the first to touch it "after" it goes into the back court.

You have three events, really.
1. Ball is touched before it goes into the BC.
2. Ball goes into the BC.
3. Ball is touched after it goes into the BC.

How is it possible for all of these events to be wrapped into one, with A1 catching the ball in the BC.

Aside from that, the logic of this ruling leads to other calls that go against the rule.

A1 dribbling with BC status near the division line. B1 guarding with FC status, bats the ball (giving it FC status with continued team control) where it hits A1's knee. By the logic of the ruling we're discussing, this is a BC violation.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 648500)
I can agree with that, however, it has taken a rules committee years before changing a rule. So, although you have a point, I can still see where the rules committee might still want this interp to be enforced. Really, the Fed needs to have a clear process and let the officiating community now what it is. Does an Official Interp override the rule book? Does the fact that the next rule book, published after the Official Interp came out, wasn't changed mean the interp is no longer in effect? When do official interps expire and are they communicated to the officiating community as such?

My main point is this, when an official interpretation comes out after the rulebooks are pubished, we don't have the luxury to ignore it just because it doesn't agree with the rule book. The official interp takes precedence, IMHO, over the rule book.

And I disagree with this, but that's ok. I wouldn't lose any sleep over a partner making this call, but you'd better be prepared to make other calls based on that same logic. (see my previous post)

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648503)
I'm not sure how, to be honest.
The rule says a team must be the last to touch the ball "before" it goes into the back court and the first to touch it "after" it goes into the back court.

You have three events, really.
1. Ball is touched before it goes into the BC.
2. Ball goes into the BC.
3. Ball is touched after it goes into the BC.

How is it possible for all of these events to be wrapped into one, with A1 catching the ball in the BC.


The ball batted in the air across the division line from frontcourt to backcourt does not have backcourt status while it is in the air. Similar to the ball being batting in the air across an endline/sideline--when does the ball achieve OOB status?

I'm sure this has been debated here before.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648511)
The ball batted in the air across the division line from frontcourt to backcourt does not have backcourt status while it is in the air. Similar to the ball being batting in the air across an endline/sideline--when does the ball achieve OOB status?

I'm sure this has been debated here before.

Which is exactly the same as the interp we're talking about. The ball doesn't gain BC status until A1 catches it; yet somehow he was also the last to touch it before he caught it?

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648514)
Which is exactly the same as the interp we're talking about. The ball doesn't gain BC status until A1 catches it; yet somehow he was also the last to touch it before he caught it?

Ball had frontcourt status until A1 touched it, so A1 caused the ball to go into the backcourt.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 11:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 648517)
Ball had frontcourt status until A1 touched it, so A1 caused the ball to go into the backcourt.

So you're going to call a violation on the dribbler in my alternate play?

And if the rule said it was illegal to cause the ball to go into the backcourt, you'd be correct.

But it doesn't.

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:00pm

Just for reference, here's the rule:
9-9-1
Quote:

A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the front court, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the front court before it went to the backcourt.
There are two provisions of this rule that are not met in the interp play.
1. No player from A was the last to touch or be touched by the ball in the front court.
2. No player from A was the last to touch or be touched by the ball before it went into the back court.

Raymond Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648518)
So you're going to call a violation on the dribbler in my alternate play?

And if the rule said it was illegal to cause the ball to go into the backcourt, you'd be correct.

But it doesn't.

Your play is the same as A1 (b/c status) passing the ball across the division line and B1 (f/c status) jumps and deflects the ball back to A1 who catches it. Depending on interpretation it could be a backcourt violation.

In your 2 provisions above, I can agree with you on #1. But #2 not so because the ball is not in the backcourt until A1 touches it. So simultaneous events are occurring.

BTW, I'm glad you and I are having this discussion. I went out to my car to get the rule book out my bag, and guess what!!! My bag is not in my trunk!!! :eek::eek::eek:

I asked my son to put my bags in the trunk this morning as we were leaving the house and he only grabbed my workout bag. Luckily my game is only 10 minutes from my house. I get off at 5 and the game starts at 7. (And if it were impossible to get home I do have a backup bag that stays in my car, but all the items are old so I wouldn't be the best looking official)

Adam Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:07pm

How does it constitute a violation? Please see post #25 on this.

I'm going to double check mine at lunch now, just to make sure everything is in it.

jdmara Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 648503)
A1 dribbling with BC status near the division line. B1 guarding with FC status, bats the ball (giving it FC status with continued team control) where it hits A1's knee. By the logic of the ruling we're discussing, this is a BC violation.

Interesting situation...I would agree that with this logic, it would be a BC Violation as well...hmmm....

-Josh

mbyron Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:32pm

Part of the confusion comes from the concept of causing the ball to have BC status. This concept appears in 9-9-2 but is absent from 9-9-1. Importing it into 9-9-1 seems to be the root of the (erroneous) interp.

gslefeb Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:46pm

If A1 is standing in the Backcourt, A1 has backcourt status.

If the Ball has FC status, as soon as it hits A1 - the ball now has backcourt status. It does not have FC status for 0.01 secs and then BC status.

The rule states - the last to touch in FC. Since A1 has BC status, how can they have been deemed to touch it in FC? The Last player to touch the ball in the FC was B1

The interp is interesting in the wording.. as it states - "caused the ball to have BC status"; This is not the same as last to touch in FC.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1