The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Designated spot after timeout / made basket? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56161-designated-spot-after-timeout-made-basket.html)

roscoe Wed Dec 30, 2009 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 (Post 646921)
Just a quick note. Same holds true after a free throw. Free throw is made, they can run the base line. If they call a timeout, they still have the baseline and also can choose on which side of the hoop they would like ball.

And they can choose (the Players) on which side of the hoop they would like the ball? I have never heard that.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 30, 2009 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by roscoe (Post 647053)
And they can choose (the Players) on which side of the hoop they would like the ball? I have never heard that.

I've never thought about it before. But there is no designated spot, so the thrower can choose anywhere along the base line to set up. Normally I go to whichever side of the basket is convenient for the crew, and I rarely have a thrower indicate he'd like the ball somewhere else.

Raymond Wed Dec 30, 2009 04:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 647055)
I've never thought about it before. But there is no designated spot, so the thrower can choose anywhere along the base line to set up. Normally I go to whichever side of the basket is convenient for the crew, and I rarely have a thrower indicate he'd like the ball somewhere else.

I've had it happen a couple times in 3-man games.

roscoe Wed Dec 30, 2009 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 647055)
I've never thought about it before. But there is no designated spot, so the thrower can choose anywhere along the base line to set up. Normally I go to whichever side of the basket is convenient for the crew, and I rarely have a thrower indicate he'd like the ball somewhere else.

So there is no designated spot, but does it say somewhere in rule book that the thrower can choose anywhere along the base line to set up.

Back In The Saddle Wed Dec 30, 2009 04:37pm

Yes.

Adam Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cmhjordan23 (Post 646921)
Just a quick note. Same holds true after a free throw. Free throw is made, they can run the base line. If they call a timeout, they still have the baseline and also can choose on which side of the hoop they would like ball.

It's also true after a made three point goal. Just thought I'd clarify.

Adam Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 646977)
Agreed. During a timeout, coach is drawing up a play, and asks where the throw in is. You say on the end line, he may not even know what you mean.
I like people to know what I'm saying.

I don't say "over the back."

I do say, on occasion, "on the floor."

Why is one acceptable and the other not? They both perpetuate myths, IMO, and neither is accurate per the rules.

muxbule Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 647107)
It's also true after a made three point goal. Just thought I'd clarify.

So what you're saying is anytime points are scored they have the option to move along the endline. :D

Adam Wed Dec 30, 2009 07:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 647110)
So what you're saying is anytime points are scored they have the option to move along the endline. :D

:) Yep.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 30, 2009 08:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by muxbule (Post 647110)
So what you're saying is anytime points are scored they have the option to move along the endline. :D

Or awarded. ;)

Nevadaref Wed Dec 30, 2009 08:35pm

grune,
I agree with your effort to use proper terminology, and you would get more credibility if I were evaluating you. Good job, keep it up.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 647108)
Why is one acceptable and the other not? They both perpetuate myths, IMO, and neither is accurate per the rules.

Agreed. I can't stand it when officials say, "on the floor."

muxbule Wed Dec 30, 2009 08:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 647137)
Or awarded. ;)

Knew that was coming. Thanks for not disappointing. :o

just another ref Wed Dec 30, 2009 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 647108)
Why is one acceptable and the other not? They both perpetuate myths, IMO, and neither is accurate per the rules.

I didn't say either was or wasn't acceptable. Some officials do say "over the back." I, personally, don't like this one, because not only is it inaccurate from a rulebook standpoint, I don't consider it to be a good description of a foul.

"On the floor" in the books means nothing. But when you say it, everybody knows what you meant.

Adam Wed Dec 30, 2009 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 647166)
I didn't say either was or wasn't acceptable. Some officials do say "over the back." I, personally, don't like this one, because not only is it inaccurate from a rulebook standpoint, I don't consider it to be a good description of a foul.

"On the floor" in the books means nothing. But when you say it, everybody knows what you meant.

"On the floor" perpetuates a myth just as much as "over the back," "reach," or the traveling signal on a throwin spot violation. "On the floor" implies that since the foul was on the floor the basket shouldn't count. This is what leads to coaches, players, and fans crying "this isn't the NBA" when we count a shot that was begun on the floor.

just another ref Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 647188)
"On the floor" perpetuates a myth just as much as "over the back," "reach," or the traveling signal on a throwin spot violation. "On the floor" implies that since the foul was on the floor the basket shouldn't count. This is what leads to coaches, players, and fans crying "this isn't the NBA" when we count a shot that was begun on the floor.

Disagree. I don't think this one is interpreted literally. "On the floor" means not on the shot. It doesn't imply the shot doesn't count, it means the shot doesn't count. I don't think many people relate it directly to the position of the player with regard to touching the floor or not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1