![]() |
Sub for shooter
A1 is fouled and shooting two shots. A6 comes to the table (alone) to sub into the game. After the first ft the official blows his whistle and beckons him in, but he says he is subbing for the shooter. A1 makes his second shot and officials again blow their whistles and A6 then comes into the game, but instead of A1 going to the bench it was A3.
Didn't have my book on me (nor do I now) and I'm pretty sure there is no rule against it, but does anyone have a reference....or perhaps in this case a lack of a reference? Thanks |
The coach can change his mind. It's a lack of reference issue, in that there's no rule that says A6's statement is binding here.
|
gotcha....thanks for saving me time looking
|
Even if A6 said, I'm coming in for A3 after the shot. its perfectly okay. It is legal to call in subs after a shooter makes his last attempt...for anybody (not just the shooter).
|
A few years ago, a substitute had to report both his number and the number of the player he was replacing to the scorer. The requirement to give the number of the player whom he is replacing was dropped.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm. |