The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   interrrupted dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56141-interrrupted-dribble.html)

Upward ref Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:35pm

interrrupted dribble
 
if i can get your jokers serious for just a minute ; :rolleyes:4.15.6 ; "during an interrupted dribble : d.)out of bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble. " i'm reading : A1 is dribbling when a.) he fumbles the ball and it goes out of bounds b.) it hits his foot and rolls out c.) hits/ touches a teammate and goes out of bounds . in a and b ,interrupted dribble , and no player control (4.15 .art 5 ) .I would normally think out of bounds on A1 , B's ball at p o i . but sec.d says no violation,sounds like it makes this an A.P. decision? in c.) out of bounds off A2 , B's ball at po i . ? what am i missing / misunderstanding ?

IchiRef Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 646621)
d.)out of bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.

It is not an out of bounds violation if, during an interrupted dribble, the player steps out of bounds.

SamIAm Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 646621)
if i can get your jokers serious for just a minute ; :rolleyes:4.15.6 ; "during an interrupted dribble : d.)out of bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble. " i'm reading : A1 is dribbling when a.) he fumbles the ball and it goes out of bounds b.) it hits his foot and rolls out c.) hits/ touches a teammate and goes out of bounds . in a and b ,interrupted dribble , and no player control (4.15 .art 5 ) .I would normally think out of bounds on A1 , B's ball at p o i . but sec.d says no violation,sounds like it makes this an A.P. decision? in c.) out of bounds off A2 , B's ball at po i . ? what am i missing / misunderstanding ?

I like to let the experts take the more involved questions, but I am familiar with this one. It means if A1, during an interupted dribble, steps OOB, it is not an OOB violation.

If the ball itself goes OOB, it is an OOB violation on whomever the ball last touched.

Raymond Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:49pm

Violation in this case = actually stepping OOB

During an interrupted dribble if the player steps OOB while not in contact with the ball it is not a violation.

If during a normal dribble the players steps OOB it is a violation,whether or not he is in contact with the ball.

APG Tue Dec 29, 2009 12:56pm

Look at Rule 9-3-1 Note

The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.

I think they are trying to make the distinction between when the ball is out of bounds when a player is dribbling the ball and during an interrupted dribble.

Also, know that POI is not the correct term to use. The ball is awarded to the team who did not cause the ball to be out of bounds at the spot nearest the violation. POI is a method of resuming play used in particular situations.

Upward ref Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:51pm

ok, thanks. <><

Mark Padgett Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Upward ref (Post 646621)
what am i missing

Apparently, the CAPS LOCK key on your keyboard. :D

Upward ref Tue Dec 29, 2009 05:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 646711)
Apparently, the CAPS LOCK key on your keyboard. :D

That's the way they told me to do it on the "other forum " (grammar and punctuation . ref . com )

BillyMac Tue Dec 29, 2009 06:47pm

Neither Do Her Punctuation Keys ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 646711)
Apparently, the CAPS LOCK key on your keyboard.

Odd? When my daughter emails me, her shift key doesn't work.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1