The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   blocked shot, GT question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56138-blocked-shot-gt-question.html)

mutantducky Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:10am

blocked shot, GT question
 
1. Not talking about tipped block shot but in a case where there is a clear blocked shot. Say A1 released, B2 blocks it, and then B3 grabs it even though the ball has a shot at going through A's basket. Any violation there?


2. Same with a clear block shot, and buzzer goes off while ball is in the air. Do you still count the basket if it goes in? I would say yes in this case.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 29, 2009 04:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 646571)
1. Not talking about tipped block shot but in a case where there is a clear blocked shot. Say A1 released, B2 blocks it, and then B3 grabs it even though the ball has a shot at going through A's basket. Any violation there?


2. Same with a clear block shot, and buzzer goes off while ball is in the air. Do you still count the basket if it goes in? I would say yes in this case.

1. Does the rule say anything about an opponent touching the ball during the try negating/eliminating the possibility of another player violating? ;)

RULE 4, SECTION 22 GOALTENDING
Goaltending occurs when a player touches the ball during a field-goal try or tap
while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the
possibility of entering the basket in flight, or an opponent of the free thrower
touches the ball outside the cylinder during a free-throw attempt.


2. 6-7-9 Exception d NOTE: If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn
sounds before or after the legal touching. If the touching is interference or goaltending
by A, no points are scored. If B violates, the points are awarded – either two or three
depending on whether it was a two or three-point try or tap.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 29, 2009 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 646571)
1. Not talking about tipped block shot but in a case where there is a clear blocked shot. Say A1 released, B2 blocks it, and then B3 grabs it even though the ball has a shot at going through A's basket. Any violation there?


2. Same with a clear block shot, and buzzer goes off while ball is in the air. Do you still count the basket if it goes in? I would say yes in this case.

It is not a blocked shot if the defense legally touches the try and the try still has a chance to go in. It's merely a try touched by the defense and the try is not over until it is certain that it will be unsuccessful. Rule 4-40-4. You rule any subsequent touching by either the offense or defense accordingly.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 29, 2009 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 646571)
1. Not talking about tipped block shot but in a case where there is a clear blocked shot. Say A1 released, B2 blocks it, and then B3 grabs it even though the ball has a shot at going through A's basket. Any violation there?


2. Same with a clear block shot, and buzzer goes off while ball is in the air. Do you still count the basket if it goes in? I would say yes in this case.

When does a try end? Hint: "Clear blocked shot" is not in the definition.

mutantducky Tue Dec 29, 2009 01:51pm

thx,
If somehow the blocked shot attempt hits off a player's head or hits the ground and bounces, buzzer goes off, then goes in, in that situation the attempt would have been over right? so no basket

Adam Tue Dec 29, 2009 01:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 646642)
thx,
If somehow the blocked shot attempt hits off a player's head or hits the ground and bounces, buzzer goes off, then goes in, in that situation the attempt would have been over right? so no basket

Correct. Once the initial try is over, the ball is dead (in this case).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1