The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or not?!? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55924-backcourt-not.html)

eemich10 Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:08pm

Backcourt or not?!?
 
OK, I have been looking in the rule book, and I am 99% sure, but wanted to see what you all say...

A1 inbounding the ball in the frontcourt, passes to A2. A2 recieves ball in the air, comes down one foot on the division line, one foot in the backcourt.

A2 begins dribble, and moves both feet into backcourt.

Backcourt violation, correct? (RULE 9.9.1)

The foot on the line established front court?

Mark Padgett Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:10pm

Ask yourself this - is the division line in a team's front or back court?

tjones1 Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:12pm

If he was dribbling, then "3 points" apply. Ball and two feet... so when the dribbler began his dribble he had backcourt status since one foot was in the backcourt.

Therefore, this isn't a violation.

eemich10 Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:15pm

His feet both came down, stopped, then began his dribble, and moved into the backcourt. His front foot was on the line, toes over the line in the frontcourt.

I understand 3 point when dribbling, but isn't this different?

showbo Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eemich10 (Post 642742)
OK, I have been looking in the rule book, and I am 99% sure, but wanted to see what you all say...

A1 inbounding the ball in the frontcourt, passes to A2. A2 recieves ball in the air, comes down one foot on the division line, one foot in the backcourt.

A2 begins dribble, and moves both feet into backcourt.

Backcourt violation, correct? (RULE 9.9.1)

The foot on the line established front court?

No, it is not backcourt violation IMO. Regardless of where the throw in occurs, no team has possession on the throw in until the ball is in control by Team A or B. So, therefore there is not back court violation.

That is how I understand that question/rules, please let me know if I am wrong because I would not call the violation.


Oscar

rockchalk jhawk Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:24pm

If his foot was on the line, then at that moment he had back court status. He can safely retreat to the back court and not violate.

Remember, the edge of the lines are the only parts that count. In this case, the edge of the line closest to the frontcourt is the only part that matters. Once he's stepped across that front edge (no matter if he's only 1/2" past it) he has back court status. Similar to how a player is out of bounds when he steps on the EDGE of the line closest to the court.

tjones1 Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eemich10 (Post 642742)
OK, I have been looking in the rule book, and I am 99% sure, but wanted to see what you all say...

A1 inbounding the ball in the frontcourt, passes to A2. A2 recieves ball in the air, comes down one foot on the division line, one foot in the backcourt.

A2 begins dribble, and moves both feet into backcourt.

Backcourt violation, correct? (RULE 9.9.1)

The foot on the line established front court?

Quote:

Originally Posted by eemich10 (Post 642748)
His feet both came down, stopped, then began his dribble, and moved into the backcourt. His front foot was on the line, toes over the line in the frontcourt.

I understand 3 point when dribbling, but isn't this different?

Red: It doesn't matter where the player jumps from since this is a throw-in.

Blue: When A2 was holding the ball straddling the division line A2 has backcourt status. When A2 began his dribble he had backcourt status since at least one foot was in the backcourt (you didn't say where the ball was but it doesn't really matter).

IchiRef Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:54pm

Would it be a violation If his foot was not only on the line, but over the line (half in FC, half in BC), then subsequently dribbled into the BC?

SamIAm Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:55pm

After A1 lands with possession, the throw-in exemption is over (I think).
I see A1 with one foot in BC with other foot on the division line and touching FC.
Wouldn't that give A1 FC status? Therefore, the movement to both feet in the BC results in a BC violation?
(Note the ?'s. Help me if necessary).

tjones1 Tue Dec 15, 2009 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IchiRef (Post 642756)
Would it be a violation If his foot was not only on the line, but over the line (half in FC, half in BC), then subsequently dribbled into the BC?

Nope. Still has BC status. Remember the division line is in the BC. If the player is straddling the division line they still have BC status.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 642757)
After A1 lands with possession, the throw-in exemption is over (I think). Yes, sort of. The throw-in ends when the ball was legally touched (i.e. when he caught the ball). However, there's an exception since it was a throw-in that allows the player to land without penalty.
I see A1 with one foot in BC with other foot on the line and touching FC.
Wouldn't that give A1 FC status? Therefore, the movement to both feet in the BC results in a BC violation? Nope, still has BC status since the player has one foot in the BC.
(Note the ?'s. Help me if necessary).

My answers in red.

IchiRef Tue Dec 15, 2009 02:01pm

thanks, that makes sense. When you think about it separate from the Throw-in (because it ended) that no call is easy.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 15, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IchiRef (Post 642756)
Would it be a violation If his foot was not only on the line, but over the line (half in FC, half in BC), then subsequently dribbled into the BC?

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 642757)
After A1 lands with possession, the throw-in exemption is over (I think).
I see A1 with one foot in BC with other foot on the division line and touching FC.
Wouldn't that give A1 FC status? Therefore, the movement to both feet in the BC results in a BC violation?
(Note the ?'s. Help me if necessary).

If a player is touching both the BC and the FC, the player is in the BC.

zm1283 Tue Dec 15, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 642757)
After A1 lands with possession, the throw-in exemption is over (I think).
I see A1 with one foot in BC with other foot on the division line and touching FC.
Wouldn't that give A1 FC status? Therefore, the movement to both feet in the BC results in a BC violation?
(Note the ?'s. Help me if necessary).

No. The division line is in the BC, so when he has one foot in the FC and one in the BC, he has BC status. He can then go back into the BC without violating.

Now, if he picks his BC foot up and pivots and puts it back down in the BC, it would be a violation.

SamIAm Tue Dec 15, 2009 04:15pm

With a few moments of thought (after your responses), of course. When transitioning from BC to FC, One has BC status until nothing is in the BC and something is in the FC. (My simple rule of thumb)

Thanks for the kindness on this simple concept that perplexed me. :o

BktBallRef Tue Dec 15, 2009 04:19pm

Guys, he was airborne when he caught the ball. It doesn't matter where his first foot lands. It can land completely in the FC and the second one land in the BC and it's still legal. He's allowed to perform a normal landing.

representing Wed Dec 16, 2009 04:54am

READ PAST 9-9-1

NFHS 9-9-3 says:

A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

Remember that there is NO team control during throw-ins. So backcourt does not apply to throw-ins, because you can only have a backcourt violation when team control exists.

So in conclusion, you were wrong to make the backcourt call in this situation. It does not matter whether the first foot landed in front, on or behind the division line. Even if it did, he would have still be in the back court as he landed on the line. as someone mentioned above, all three must be in front of the line (both feet and the ball) before having full frontcourt status.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 16, 2009 05:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 642795)
Guys, he was airborne when he caught the ball. It doesn't matter where his first foot lands. It can land completely in the FC and the second one land in the BC and it's still legal. He's allowed to perform a normal landing.

Thank you. I was getting rather irate reading the first 14 posts in this thread and no one having yet mentioned that point.

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 642887)
READ PAST 9-9-1

NFHS 9-9-3 says:

A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
----------------------------------------------------------
Remember that there is NO team control during throw-ins. So backcourt does not apply to throw-ins, because you can only have a backcourt violation when team control exists.

So in conclusion, you were wrong to make the backcourt call in this situation. It does not matter whether the first foot landed in front, on or behind the division line. Even if it did, he would have still be in the back court as he landed on the line. as someone mentioned above, all three must be in front of the line (both feet and the ball) before having full frontcourt status.

Not precisely. Right result, wrong reasons.

1. Although there is no team control during a throw-in, the backcourt rule applies to every play during a game, including to the above situation. It simply isn't a violation due to the very specific exception which you quoted. (Think of the NCAA level. There is team control during a throw-in, but they still have exemptions for throwing the ball into the backcourt from a throw-in.)

2. The throw-in ends and team control does exist as soon as A2 catches the throw-in pass in this scenario, so if it weren't for the specific exception of 9-9-3, then the play would be a backcourt violation.

3. The three-points rule (both feet and the ball having touched in the frontcourt) only applies during a dribble. The player in this situation caught the ball and landed while holding it. So we need to apply the rule for frontcourt/backcourt status while holding the ball, not while dribbling it. As others have written that rule is something touching the frontcourt and nothing touching the backcourt (which obviously includes the division line).


======================
Finally, I am concerned about those who seem to believe that if a player has one foot in the air and the other on the court such that the toe is over the division line and touching the frontcourt, but the rest of the foot is on the line or in the backcourt, then this would constitute frontcourt status. That is wrong. The toe means nothing. Since some part of the player is still touching the backcourt, that is his status--BACKCOURT. For the record, the player could have both feet completely in the frontcourt, but a hand touching the floor in the backcourt, and he would have backcourt status.

grunewar Wed Dec 16, 2009 06:51am

Caught off guard.....
 
Last night I was surprised by a backcourt violation......

BJV game. H1 shooting 2nd foul shot. Brick. Ball is rebounded by H2 who dribbles toward division line. Looks up and sees two of his team mates at the other end and heeves the ball to H3 who goes up for a shot.....at the wrong basket! V1 actually goes up to block his shot.

Partner blew it dead as a bizarre backcourt violation.

Our only question then was where to inbound the ball? Was H2 in his frontcourt when he threw it to H3? Therefore the violation occurred where H3 caught the ball (under the other basket). Or was H2 in the backcourt when he threw it? Therefore the violation happened right there? We determined H2 was in the backcourt when he relased the pass and inbounded the ball at the spot of the violation in the backcourt near the division line.

My P was all over it thankfully...... :o

eemich10 Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:44am

Thanks for the clarity Nevada ref.

I didn't make this call, I was watching a BV game and saw this call made as a BC violation. Two veterans. So, they kicked the call. Whoops.

I agree that there are two different sets of scenarios, one based on the dribble, and one based on recieving the pass or ball in the air (or standing!)

Thanks for the discussion all, and clarification.

tjones1 Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 642904)
Thank you. I was getting rather irate reading the first 14 posts in this thread and no one having yet mentioned that point.

You must of skipped over post 10. ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1