The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 12:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 521
Table Doesn't Tell Officials That the Player Fouled Out

A1 called for a foul. Ball put back into play. Table now realizes that A1 has 5 fouls.

What should the table do? Do they want until the next dead ball to inform the officials?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 12:26pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
2-11-3 ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spence View Post
A1 called for a foul. Ball put back into play. Table now realizes that A1 has 5 fouls. What should the table do? Do they want until the next dead ball to inform the officials?
2-11-3 The scorer shall: Signal the officials by using the game horn or a sounding device unlike that used by the referee and umpire(s). This may be used immediately if, or as soon as, the ball is dead or is in control of the offending team.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
2-11-11 NOTE 2. The procedure if a player who has committed his/her fifth foul continues to play
because the scorer has failed to notify the official is as follows: As soon as the scorer
discovers the irregularity, the game horn should be sounded after, or as soon as, the
ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player must be
removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was
illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the
procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
2-11-11 NOTE 2. The procedure if a player who has committed his/her fifth foul continues to play
because the scorer has failed to notify the official is as follows: As soon as the scorer
discovers the irregularity, the game horn should be sounded after, or as soon as, the
ball is in control of the offending team or is dead. The disqualified player must be
removed immediately. Any points which may have been scored while such player was
illegally in the game are counted. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the
procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials.
I would like some carification on the last part. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials. What does this meen exactly?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
I would like some carification on the last part. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials. What does this meen exactly?
Just what it says. If any of the action falls under the purview of the five correctable errors listed in 2-10, then the officials shall take the proper action.

Note that a player with five fouls, but who has not yet been disqualified by notification to the coach from an official is not a wrong player attempting a FT. The NFHS has ruled that such a player is the proper player until being DQ'd.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just what it says. If any of the action falls under the purview of the five correctable errors listed in 2-10, then the officials shall take the proper action.

Note that a player with five fouls, but who has not yet been disqualified by notification to the coach from an official is not a wrong player attempting a FT. The NFHS has ruled that such a player is the proper player until being DQ'd.
So can you think of a for instance for my simple mind. I had thought of the free-throw but had drawn the same conclusion as you stated. Just trying to get a hold on what this means in real life.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 02:53pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Also, check out 2-11-11 Notes 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sub for fouled out player Loudwhistle Basketball 20 Mon Dec 07, 2009 07:38pm
Player fouled out... Idaho Basketball 3 Sun Nov 18, 2007 02:40pm
T to a fouled out player QuebecRef87 Basketball 18 Thu Feb 24, 2005 01:34pm
A Player who fouled out still playing..... dsimp8 Basketball 6 Thu Jan 27, 2005 01:51am
Disqualified player gets fouled cropduster Basketball 17 Mon Sep 29, 2003 08:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1