The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump Ball - Backcourt (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55652-jump-ball-backcourt.html)

sseltser Fri Dec 04, 2009 08:49am

Jump Ball - Backcourt
 
Jumper A1 taps the toss. The ball (a) is deflected by non-jumper B2 or (b) bounces. In (a) and (b) non-jumper A2 jumps from A's frontcourt, secures the ball in the air, and lands in A's backcourt. Ruling?

bob jenkins Fri Dec 04, 2009 09:10am

The exception applies during a jump ball. The jump ball has ended in each of your plays. Violation.

Back In The Saddle Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:35am

"A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt." (NFHS 9-9-3)

I know that I should always, always, always "Listen to Bob." However, riddle me this... If the backcourt "exception" rule applies to "the team not in control", does it matter if the jump ball has ended so long as neither team has established control?

Adam Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:40am

Yes it matters. Read case 9.9.1D for the logic.

fullor30 Fri Dec 04, 2009 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 639624)
Yes it matters. Read case 9.9.1D for the logic.


Thanks Bob and Snaqs! Filed away.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 04, 2009 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 639621)
does it matter if the jump ball has ended so long as neither team has established control?


Does it? Yes.

Should it? No, imo. That said, I can see the argument that some make to treat this (sort of) like the boundary lines.

Back In The Saddle Fri Dec 04, 2009 02:16pm

Thanks, Bob. Since I posted this I read into the other thread related to this and I see what you're saying. I'm with JAR on this, as long as the rule reads "the team not in control" it should actually mean that. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1