The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt or No? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55646-backcourt-no.html)

BballTip Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:15pm

Backcourt or No?
 
Shot goes up from A2.

Long rebound...Ball deflects off A3's hand at top of key. A4 grabs ball with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt.

Is this a violation?

I know there is no backcourt violation on a rebound becasue there is no team control, however since the ball was deflected off A3, does that mean the rebounding action is over or does the provision stand until control is secured?

mbyron Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BballTip (Post 639440)
I know there is no backcourt violation on a rebound becasue there is no team control, however since the ball was deflected off A3, does that mean the rebounding action is over or does the provision stand until control is secured?

You can answer your own question: did A3's touch secure team control?

eyezen Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BballTip (Post 639440)
Shot goes up from A2.

Long rebound...Ball deflects off A3's hand at top of key. A4 grabs ball with one foot in frontcourt and one foot in backcourt.

Is this a violation?

I know there is no backcourt violation on a rebound becasue there is no team control, however since the ball was deflected off A3, does that mean the rebounding action is over or does the provision stand until control is secured?

The latter, "rebounding action" has no bearing.

tjones1 Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:22pm

Deflecting off A3's does not establish team control for A. So to answer your question it "stands" until a team gains control.

If A4 was straddling the division line when he caught the ball (gained control) then it's nothing.

If A4 had one foot in the front court and the other in the air when he gained control then the foot that was in the air came down in the backcourt... then that would be a violation.

Adam Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by eyezen (Post 639443)
The latter, "rebounding action" has no bearing.

Strike one.

just having fun.

Once the shot was released, team control ended. When, in the OP, was it established again?

Adam Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 639444)
Deflecting off A3's does not establish team control for A. So to answer your question it "stands" until a team gains control.

If A4 was straddling the division line when he caught the ball (gained control) then it's nothing.

If A4 had one foot in the front court and the other in the air when he gained control then the foot that was in the air came down in the backcourt... then that would be a violation.

And, incidentally, if A1 caught the ball while airborne with FC status, then landed in the BC, it would be a violation. The exception does not apply during a rebound.

Also, if B1 caught the ball while airborne coming from the other direction, it would also be a violation when he lands.

offici88 Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:35pm

I see/call this every year and the coach goes nuts. When a player comes down with the ball and one foot in the front court before the second foot in the back court, the pivot foot has been established and the violation must be called.

For some reason coaches believe the player has the chance to come down with the long rebound without regard to the mic-court line.

We'll see if this year is different...will probably see it tonight in my GV game.

tjones1 Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 639453)
Also, if B1 caught the ball while airborne coming from the other direction, it would also be a violation when he lands.

I'd like to see it. ;) :D

Adam Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 639458)
I'd like to see it. ;) :D

It could happen. :)

tjones1 Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 639459)
It could happen. :)

Very true...

Ahhh, I can see it now.... that explaination coming with a side of Whack! :p

Adam Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 639463)
Very true...

Ahhh, I can see it now.... that explaination coming with a side of Whack! :p

Best of both worlds. :)

Nevadaref Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by offici88 (Post 639455)
I see/call this every year and the coach goes nuts. When a player comes down with the ball and one foot in the front court before the second foot in the back court, the pivot foot has been established and the violation must be called.

For some reason coaches believe the player has the chance to come down with the long rebound without regard to the mic-court line.

We'll see if this year is different...will probably see it tonight in my GV game.

Coaches think that way because a player is allowed to do that when receiving a throw-in, making a defensive steal, or securing a jump ball. They don't make the distinction that a player is specifically granted an exception during those actions, but not in this one.

I've never understood why the NFHS treats the situation with a long rebound differently because it is just another situation in which there is no team control before the airborne player secures the ball. However, the NFHS has made it clear over the past couple of years that there is no exception granted for securing a rebound and landing in the backcourt. I don't like it, but that's the way it is.

Adam Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:52pm

I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.

Nevadaref Thu Dec 03, 2009 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 639469)
I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.

Me too.

showbo Thu Dec 03, 2009 06:23pm

Simply, no.

From reading your post, a simple deflection off of a players hand does not mandate team control, therefore, there is no back court violation.

Oscar

mbyron Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by offici88 (Post 639455)
I see/call this every year and the coach goes nuts. When a player comes down with the ball and one foot in the front court before the second foot in the back court, the pivot foot has been established and the violation must be called.

The pivot foot is irrelevant to the BC violation.

Adam Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 639604)
The pivot foot is irrelevant to the BC violation.

Thank you.

just another ref Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 639469)
I agree, Nevada. Before they clarified, I assumed it was intended for all situations in which team control was initially attained by an airborne player.

Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?

Adam Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 639609)
Refresh my memory, please. Was there an interp which dealt with the long rebound specifically?

No. The wording of the rule itself leaves doubt as to whether the bit in parentheses is meant to be all-inclusive or merely provide examples. We had that debate here on the board a few years ago. Some argued that only the situations provided were exempted; others (including me) argued that the provided situations were only examples and that the exception should apply to all situations where a player established team control while airborne. Then NFHS issued 9.9.1D, making it clear the parenthetical situations were meant to be all-inclusive.

Adam Fri Dec 04, 2009 10:23am

Here's the thread with the initial discussion.http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...violation.html

just another ref Fri Dec 04, 2009 01:19pm

I would like to see the phrase "from the team not in control" removed from this rule. This is still confusing, as proven when we discussed (beat to death?) the numerous situations where neither team is in control yet the end of the play can still be a backcourt violation.

9-9-3: (revised) A defensive player, or any player during a jump ball or throw-in, may jump from his frontcourt, secure control etc.........


Do we agree that the defensive player exception still applies when there is no team control yet established after a throw-in?

A1's throw-in pass glances off the hands of A2. B1 leaps from his frontcourt, intercepts the pass and lands in his backcourt. Ruling: legal play

Even though there is no team control and no definition of defensive player, (but there was something obscure somebody quoted from a case play, maybe) I still consider B1 to be a defensive player in this circumstance.

mutantducky Fri Dec 04, 2009 01:35pm

just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule so maybe that is why but for HS.

to establish frontcourt is it both feet, left and right, or two feet. right foot in and then back into BC and then into FC while left stays in FC. BALL is in FC. Is that FC.

Adam Fri Dec 04, 2009 01:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 639685)
just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule so maybe that is why but for HS.

to establish frontcourt is it both feet, left and right, or two feet. right foot in and then back into BC and then into FC while left stays in FC. BALL is in FC. Is that FC.

I'm not sure what you're asking here, but I'll take a crack at it.

Assuming the player is not dribbling, FC gets established as soon as the player with the ball has something touching the FC and nothing touching the BC. So, assuming a player gets the ball straddling the line with one foot down in the BC and one down in the FC, he will have FC status if and when he lifts his BC foot. If he puts it back down, it's a violation.

If no player has control of the ball, it gains FC status as soon as it touches the FC (assuming there's team control by which you would define the FC).

ref2coach Fri Dec 04, 2009 02:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 639685)
just slipped on this and of course I should know it. I think FIFA has a different rule

Yes FIFA is different. FIFA stipulates that you must play the ball with your feet. :eek:

Sorry the soccer referee in me could not let that one pass. ;)

mutantducky Fri Dec 04, 2009 03:20pm

yeah :rolleyes: I was checking out the draw before.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1