The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   T'd player 'in jail' on the court? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55614-td-player-jail-court.html)

referee99 Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:23am

T'd player 'in jail' on the court?
 
Team B in bonus, B1 is fouled by A1. A1 says something, Partner T's A1.

We get together, B1 will shoot his FT's with lane cleared, then we will shoot the 2 technical throws.

A1 is still on the court, Team A coach wants to sub him out and keep him from saying something else.

I know we can sub once we get to the first of the technical throws, but does A1 have to stay on the court for one or both of the free-throws by B1?

bob jenkins Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 638890)
I know we can sub once we get to the first of the technical throws, but does A1 have to stay on the court for one or both of the free-throws by B1?

By rule, yes.

By good game management, no.

Adam Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:10am

I'm with Bob. Allow the sub.

Back In The Saddle Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:17am

Yep. Why would you want to stop the coach solving your problem?

SAK Tue Dec 01, 2009 06:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 638910)
Yep. Why would you want to stop the coach solving your problem?

I agree with BITS, this player is only going to make a mess of your game. Why not help the coach here and direct the player to leave the game? That takes care of the problem.

Adam Tue Dec 01, 2009 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 639011)
I agree with BITS, this player is only going to make a mess of your game. Why not help the coach here and direct the player to leave the game? That takes care of the problem.

I'd say "allow" rather than "direct" here, as we have no authority to direct this player to leave.

referee99 Wed Dec 02, 2009 09:40am

Thanks for the replies.
 
In the orig sitch, the player was not a problem, coach just wanted to get the business done.

It felt odd to say basically, no you can't take your just-assessed-a-T player off of the court.

I felt like a bureaucrat at the border crossing.

habram Thu Dec 03, 2009 01:47pm

a smart official will allow a coach to replace any player that is upset or has an attitude.

during a dead ball it doesn't matter any way

also different substitutes can be brought in to shoot the 1st or 2nd technical

habram Thu Dec 03, 2009 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 639047)
I'd say "allow" rather than "direct" here, as we have no authority to direct this player to leave.

good answer , officials get into trouble whenever they give players the wrong guidance :cool:

Raymond Thu Dec 03, 2009 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by habram (Post 639391)
a smart official will allow a coach to replace any player that is upset or has an attitude.

during a dead ball it doesn't matter any way

also different substitutes can be brought in to shoot the 1st or 2nd technical

Had it last night. Kid slammed the ball after getting called for a travel. By the time I got to the table to report it there was a sub already there. I let the sub in immediately.

Adam Thu Dec 03, 2009 03:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 639423)
Had it last night. Kid slammed the ball after getting called for a travel. By the time I got to the table to report it there was a sub already there. I let the sub in immediately.

As you should have, by rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1