![]() |
Another back court question
This is from the M(Michigan)HSAA on line test-
A5 rebounds a missed shot by B1 and outlets the ball to A3. A3 attempts a long pass down the court. B4, who is sprinting down the court jumps from his/her frountcourt and intercepts A3's pass. B4 returns to the court with the first foot touching down in his/her frontcourt followed by the second foot coming down in Team B's backcourt. Is this legal or an "over-and-back" violation? The correct answer is "legal," but it seems like it would be a violation. |
Quote:
PAGE 56 Rule 9 SECTION 9 BACKCOURT ART. 3 . . . A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28pm. |