The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   M-NCAA Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55568-m-ncaa-question.html)

Mr. Ref Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:09am

M-NCAA Question
 
Regarding the new injured free throw shooter rule. Can the coach for the injured shooter buy him back in to shoot the free throws?

Ex.
Player's left hand is injured on drive to the basket in the final seconds of the game. As player is leaving the floor coach would rather have the injured player shoot one handed than rely on his big man to shoot.

Can the coach buy this player back in with a timeout?

bob jenkins Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:15am

The regular injury / substitution rules still apply.

dahoopref Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:19am

Play: A-1 is injured and the referee beckons the coach and/or the athletics trainer onto
the playing court to assist the injured player. Rather than replacing A-1, who is the
team’s best free throw shooter, the coach from Team A requests a timeout. The official
recognizes and grants the timeout. Is the official correct?

Ruling: The coach from Team A correctly exercised his option of requesting a timeout
and as a result, the official was correct in granting the timeout. However, since the
status of A-1’s injury has not been determined, the referee shall instruct the official
scorer to note which four players from Team A were on the playing court before the
timeout was granted.

At the end of the timeout, if it is determined that A-1 is unable to attempt his free
throw(s), the coach from Team B shall select one of the four remaining players to
attempt the free throw(s). That selection, once made, is final and inalterable.

A-1 shall be replaced immediately after the final horn indicating the expiration of the
timeout and Team B is allowed to counter with a substitution. Prior to the warning horn,
any other substitution(s) must have reported to, or were in position to report to, the
official scorer. However, their entry onto the playing court shall not be allowed until the
coach from Team B has selected who shall attempt the free throw(s) for the injured
player.

All_Heart Mon Nov 30, 2009 10:05am

If his/her substitute were already beckoned onto the court then it would be to late to "buy" A-1 back in with a timeout.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1