![]() |
Kobe Bryant behind backboard basket
Thunder vs. Lakers - NBA Videos and Highlights
look at the first play in this video. I didnt see the game, i just saw this video and i cant hear the sound. so please can somone tell me if this basket is account as point? as i know in nba behind backboard is out of bounds. and it looks in the video that the officiate dont sign anything about out of bounds |
Quote:
The announcer says, "That's legal now." (And, yes, I know the announcers are frequently wrong about rules.) |
Why doubt the announcer?
|
I dont doubt any announcer. i just cant hear
any sound because im at work pc without sound output...
|
Is it true that:
"With the new rules, as long as the shot is not made directly behind the entire length of the backboard, a converted shot will count."
i read it in some website. but its not clear about what league this apply. this statement is regarding to new NBA rule? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It would seem that it should of been a violation. Directly from the 2009-2010 rule book:
Rule 8, Section II: b. Any ball that rebounds or passes directly behind the backboard, in either direction, from any point is considered out-of-bounds. |
Quote:
The relevant provision for NFHS is 7-1-2: "The ball is out of bounds: b. When it passes over a rectangular backboard." I was taught that this means "directly over," which seems equivalent to the NBA rule (or, if you like, the "NBA rule"). |
Quote:
|
so its true that:
"With the new rules, as long as the shot is not made directly behind the entire length of the backboard, a converted shot will count."
??? |
Quote:
In FED and NCAA, it would be a violation. That said, it might have been missed. :shrug: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
His right foot seems to be on the lane line, and the ball over his head. The lane is 12' wide (or 14'? I don't know NBA dimensions), and the backboard is only 6' wide. So the ball left his hand approximately 3' to the side of the backboard, and thus not directly behind it. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37am. |