The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time out administration for 2 man (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55503-time-out-administration-2-man.html)

referee50 Sun Nov 22, 2009 03:36pm

Time out administration for 2 man
 
For NFHS mechanics, the calling official always stands center court front or back of circle depending if it is a 30 or 60, correct?

And does the off official always stand at where the ball will come back into play?

Freddy Sun Nov 22, 2009 04:12pm

T.o.
 
Others please correct this if it's wrong, but yes that's the postioning. Unless the throw-in will take place near where either bench is gathering for a time-out, then the offical with the ball will position himself somewhere nearby but not necessary at the exact spot, less he be standing right in the middle of the time-out huddle.
Right?

Camron Rust Sun Nov 22, 2009 04:57pm

FALSE

The whistle is blown for the timeout.
The ball is transfered to the non-calling official.
The throwin spot is determined and the official responsible for that spot (no matter who called the timeout) will, after the timeout is reported, proceed to that spot with the ball while the other official proceeds to halfcourt.

Basically, imagine that a violation was called at the location of the ball. Whoever will administer the throwin to follow such a violation will be the one to go to the spot. The other official goes to half court.

Examples:

Lead calls timeout with the ball in the paint....lead reports timeout and, since the throwin spot is on the lead's line, the lead returns to the endline with the ball to mark the spot....trail goes to half court.

Lead call timeout with the ball on the opposite side and above the FT line. Lead reports timeout and goes to half court. Since the throwin spot is on the trail's line, trail goes to the spot.

Trail calls timeout with the ball in the paint.....trail reports timeout and, since the throwin spot is on the lead's line, the lead stays at endline with the ball to mark the spot....trail goes to half court.

Trail call timeout with the ball on the opposite side and above the FT line. Trail reports timeout and goes to half court. Since the throwin spot is on the lead's line, lead goes to the spot.

zm1283 Sun Nov 22, 2009 05:05pm

We are told that the official the grants the timeout always goes to administer the throw in, no matter where it is. So if I'm T and the ball is in the paint and I grant the timeout and report it, I go administer the throw in following the timeout.

AKOFL Sun Nov 22, 2009 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 637596)
We are told that the official the grants the timeout always goes to administer the throw in, no matter where it is. So if I'm T and the ball is in the paint and I grant the timeout and report it, I go administer the throw in following the timeout.

HHHmmm.......?

SAK Sun Nov 22, 2009 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 637596)
We are told that the official the grants the timeout always goes to administer the throw in, no matter where it is. So if I'm T and the ball is in the paint and I grant the timeout and report it, I go administer the throw in following the timeout.

I have been told that there is no switch on a time out. So you remain in the same positions regardless of what official granted the timeout request.

Adam Sun Nov 22, 2009 05:43pm

When in Rome. Pregame this.

zm1283 Sun Nov 22, 2009 06:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAK (Post 637599)
I have been told that there is no switch on a time out. So you remain in the same positions regardless of what official granted the timeout request.

Hence the "We are told" that I threw in there.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637601)
When in Rome. Pregame this.

Yep. There has never been a consensus on this issue. Everywhere does it differently.

Back In The Saddle Mon Nov 23, 2009 01:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 637605)
Hence the "We are told" that I threw in there.



Yep. There has never been a consensus on this issue. Everywhere does it differently.

Amen. Here we have gone back to standing on the blocks or arcs. And I've never heard any discussion allowing or prohibiting a switching during a TO.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 23, 2009 10:48am

The question was asking about what the NFHS mechanics are. If you're doing anything other than what I stated, it is certainly OK if your area has chosen to do it that way but it is not the NFHS mechanic.

There may or may not be a switch depending on where the throwin spot will be....leads sideline in the FC but above FT line with cause a switch....all others spots will not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1