The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ball lodged. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/55489-ball-lodged.html)

Rita C Fri Nov 20, 2009 05:26pm

Ball lodged.
 
I missed one question on the test that I can't find the ruling for in the rulebook or the casebook.

It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.

I said "True" since it is a live ball being lodged. But then I realized after my test was graded that the throw-in hadn't been completed either.

So I'm thinking, in the unlikely event this should happen, team A gets the ball for throw-in again since they hadn't violated?

Rita

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 05:35pm

Actually, it's a throwin violation because the throwin team fails to throw the ball so that it is legally touched by someone on the playing court.

Scratch85 Fri Nov 20, 2009 05:36pm

9-2-8. It is a violation if the thrown ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

The ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:08pm

And they lose the arrow due to the violation.

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637376)
And they lose the arrow due to the violation.

I prefer to see it as the arrow having done its job; provided the throwin. What they do with the throwin is irrelevant, as long as it gets completed legally.

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:28pm

[QUOTE=Snaqwells;637379]I prefer to see it as the arrow having done its job; provided the throwin. What they do with the throwin is irrelevant, as long as it gets completed legally.[/QUOTE
Not sure what you are getting at. Are you trying to say the same thing only different?

Adam Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637383)
Not sure what you are getting at. Are you trying to say the same thing only different?

Yes and no. My opinion and philosophy on the arrow differs from the rules (although I enforce it correctly by the rules). I don't see this as a case of the throwin team "losing" the arrow due to the violation. I see it as the team having utilized the arrow and not taken advantage of it.

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:35pm

So the glass isn't half full or half empty. What is it?

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:37pm

I get what you are saying. As long as it works for you.:D

Juulie Downs Fri Nov 20, 2009 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 637370)
I missed one question on the test that I can't find the ruling for in the rulebook or the casebook.

It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.

I said "True" since it is a live ball being lodged. But then I realized after my test was graded that the throw-in hadn't been completed either.

So I'm thinking, in the unlikely event this should happen, team A gets the ball for throw-in again since they hadn't violated?

Rita

I'm confused. Is the question saying, "A has an AP throw-in and throws up a wedgie so what's the next play?" Or is it saying, "A has a regular throw-in and throws up a wedgie, and the next play is an AP?"

AKOFL Fri Nov 20, 2009 07:04pm

Now you've confused me Juulie

Mark Padgett Fri Nov 20, 2009 07:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637390)
I'm confused. Is the question saying, "A has an AP throw-in and throws up a wedgie so what's the next play?" Or is it saying, "A has a regular throw-in and throws up a wedgie, and the next play is an AP?"

Juulie - I think the question, as stated, is asking if a wedgie on a regular throw-in results in an AP throw-in just as a wedgie during play (not on a throw-in) results in an AP throw-in. The answer to that, of course, is no.

Juulie Downs Fri Nov 20, 2009 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 637394)
Juulie - I think the question, as stated, is asking if a wedgie on a regular throw-in results in an AP throw-in just as a wedgie during play (not on a throw-in) results in an AP throw-in. The answer to that, of course, is no.

That's what I thought when I read the OP, but after reading some of the responses I was confused about either the question itself or about the answers.

BillyMac Fri Nov 20, 2009 08:00pm

Talk About Straight Lines ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637390)
A wedgie.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 637394)
A wedgie... A wedgie.

Mark Padgett: I can't believe that you've got nothing else to say? Are you feeling alright?

Back In The Saddle Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 637384)
Yes and no. My opinion and philosophy on the arrow differs from the rules (although I enforce it correctly by the rules). I don't see this as a case of the throwin team "losing" the arrow due to the violation. I see it as the team having utilized the arrow and not taken advantage of it.

My feeling exactly. Nobody took the arrow from them. They were not robbed. They were entitled to an AP throw-in, and they received an AP throw-in. What they did with it, is their problem.

refnrev Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637395)
That's what I thought when I read the OP, but after reading some of the responses I was confused about either the question itself or about the answers.

I get confused by a lot of the responses to a lot of posts on this forum.;)

bob jenkins Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637390)
I'm confused. Is the question saying, "A has an AP throw-in and throws up a wedgie so what's the next play?" Or is it saying, "A has a regular throw-in and throws up a wedgie, and the next play is an AP?"

You're confused because someone (AKOFL) brought "losing the arrow" into the question when it didn't exist in the first place.

Back In The Saddle Sat Nov 21, 2009 01:48am

Get a rope!

mbyron Sat Nov 21, 2009 07:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle (Post 637410)
My feeling exactly. Nobody took the arrow from them. They were not robbed. They were entitled to an AP throw-in, and they received an AP throw-in. What they did with it, is their problem.

For some folks, it's not enough to know the rules. For some folks, it's also important to understand the rules.

As I tell my students: you've never quite learned the material until you have to teach it.

SamIAm Sat Nov 21, 2009 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637376)
And they lose the arrow due to the violation.

It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.

Only if the bolded throw-in is an AP throw-in. If not, nothing happens to the arrow as a result of the bolded throw-in. (As I read the OP question).

nine01c Sat Nov 21, 2009 09:54am

The answer is FALSE in every way the statement can possibly be interpreted.

mbyron Sat Nov 21, 2009 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm (Post 637452)
It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.

No, it isn't.

9-2-8 (already cited): "[During a throw-in] the thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot."

It doesn't matter what happened previously that occasioned the throw-in by A.

AKOFL Sat Nov 21, 2009 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 637434)
You're confused because someone (AKOFL) brought "losing the arrow" into the question when it didn't exist in the first place.

I apologise so so much for being the only person ever to be confused by a question on this forum. I will keep my 2 cents to myself until ( if ever ) m confusion goes away. So sorry bob jenkins

Juulie Downs Sat Nov 21, 2009 02:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 637484)
I apologise so so much for being the only person ever to be confused by a question on this forum. I will keep my 2 cents to myself until ( if ever ) m confusion goes away. So sorry bob jenkins

Well, AKOFL, you weren't the only one!! And it's mostly a problem of the way the questions on the #$%^& test are written. I hate that thing!!

AKOFL Sat Nov 21, 2009 03:02pm

They are meant to be taken a variety of way with only one right answer. i have a simple mind sometimes, but I try:)

BillyMac Sat Nov 21, 2009 03:02pm

Not Exactly My Choice Of Words, But I Agree ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637488)
It's mostly a problem of the way the questions on the #$%^& test are written.

Amen.

CMHCoachNRef Sat Nov 21, 2009 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C;637370[B
It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.[/B]

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637488)
And it's mostly a problem of the way the questions on the #$%^& test are written. I hate that thing!!

Juulie,
There are definitely poorly worded questions on this test. Quite honestly, I don't think this is one of them. The purpose of this question is to ascertain WHEN the ball being lodged results in an AP throw-in (lodged during the normal course of play last played by a player inbounds) and when the ball being lodged results in a throw-in to the opposition (lodged during a throw-in such as the one described in the test question).

Juulie Downs Sat Nov 21, 2009 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CMHCoachNRef (Post 637495)
Juulie,
There are definitely poorly worded questions on this test. Quite honestly, I don't think this is one of them. The purpose of this question is to ascertain WHEN the ball being lodged results in an AP throw-in (lodged during the normal course of play last played by a player inbounds) and when the ball being lodged results in a throw-in to the opposition (lodged during a throw-in such as the one described in the test question).

Yes, that's how it's meant, but several took it differently. Which means it wasn't well written. IMO

Rita C Sun Nov 22, 2009 02:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Juulie Downs (Post 637496)
Yes, that's how it's meant, but several took it differently. Which means it wasn't well written. IMO

As it happens, it's the only one I missed on the test. So that may say something about how well it was written.

When I was studying for my teaching credential I took a course on writing tests. T/F tests are considered the worst for testing actual knowledge of the rules.

The intent, IMHO, of the NFHS test is only to get people into the book. It really isn't to test any real grasp of the rules.

Rita

BillyMac Sun Nov 22, 2009 02:49am

I Nominate mbyron. Do I Have A Second ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 637536)
When I was studying for my teaching credential I took a course on writing tests. T/F tests are considered the worst for testing actual knowledge of the rules.

Which is why I have always advocated having an official who's day job is a teacher, hopefully an English teacher, on the test committee.

justacoach Sun Nov 22, 2009 06:17am

Definitive answer
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 637370)
I missed one question on the test that I can't find the ruling for in the rulebook or the casebook.

It is an alternating possession throw-in when A1's throw-in lodges between the backboard and the ring.

I said "True" since it is a live ball being lodged. But then I realized after my test was graded that the throw-in hadn't been completed either.

So I'm thinking, in the unlikely event this should happen, team A gets the ball for throw-in again since they hadn't violated?

Rita

FALSE is the only logical conclusion even if you over complicate the original test question

My son missed this question and the NFHS test results page responded with the following rules references:
9-2-8 already posted here and which tells us this is a violation, ball goes to B for throw-in
AND, a more salient passage in
6-4-3, as follows:

Rule 6-4 2009-10 NFHS Basketball Rules Page 46
SECTION 4 ALTERNATING POSSESSION

ART. 3 . . . Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds
spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in
shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the
flange, UNLESS a free throw or throw-in follows.

In the original situation, there will be a throw-in following (by B) therefore the AP provision is NOT INVOKED and there is no change to the AP arrow


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1