The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Foul during shot (off ball)

A1 shots and makes bucket. During shot, (a) A2 is fouled by B2 or (b) B2 is fouled by A2.

I believe that in both situations that the bucket would count, and the ball would be inbounded by the offended team at the POI. Am I correct? Can you point me in the right direction. I have my rulebook here and can't find it. Any help would be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
Also, is A2 if fouled by B2, and the bucket is made...Do they get the ball out of bounds at the POI, or do they get an "And 1" foul shot?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
You're looking for when the ball becomes dead during a try (a shot attempt). And you're looking for whether that answer is different depending on whether the offense or defense commits the foul.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 33
So in 6-7, it says the ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter lands.

I might not be understanding, but if a foul happens during the try or tap (ball is in air), no matter what, I am calling the foul, but counting the bucket if made and awarding a throw in to the offended team.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:27am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
Also, is A2 if fouled by B2, and the bucket is made...Do they get the ball out of bounds at the POI, or do they get an "And 1" foul shot?
Think about this...

It's certainly possible for A2 to go to the line in this situation. However, not for only one shot ("And 1") - it'd either be bonus or double bonus.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:30am
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
I might not be understanding, but if a foul happens during the try or tap (ball is in air), no matter what, I am calling the foul, but counting the bucket if made and awarding a throw in to the offended team.
What if a team is in the bonus or double bonus? If it's during a try then there's no team control, right? So it doesn't matter who it is on you are going to shoot if they are in the bonus/double bonus, right?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Try these rules to help you understand:

6-7-4
6-7-7 (and exceptions listed at end of 6-7)
and let not forget continuation
4-11-1,2, & 3

Also, 4-12 especially
4-12-1 (player control)
4-12-2a (team control)
4-12-3a (team control ends)

Therefore you must know
1 who fouled.
2. when did the foul occur (ie. before or after the release of the ball on try or tap).
3. does team control exist
4. ball dead or still alive.

Last edited by Daryl H. Long; Wed Nov 18, 2009 at 12:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
A1 shots and makes bucket. During shot, (a) A2 is fouled by B2 or (b) B2 is fouled by A2.

I believe that in both situations that the bucket would count, and the ball would be inbounded by the offended team at the POI. Am I correct? Can you point me in the right direction. I have my rulebook here and can't find it. Any help would be helpful.
I put the only part which you have incorrect in red.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
In ALL situations in which a foul occurs by either team after the ball is in flight on a try or tap the goal is counted. As Nevada said play is not resumed at POI (incorrect terminology) but according to circumstances dictated by the foul.

Throw in at spot nearest foul
Free throws (1 and 1 or 2)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 01:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
The tricky part is if the foul occurs before ball is in flight on tap or try.

A1 jumps to shoot. If A2 fouls before A1 releases the ball no points will be scored. A1 had player control therefore A2 foul is a team control foul. The ball becomes dead immediately, no FT's, and B put ball in play by Throw in.

A1 jumps to shoot. B2 fouls A2. Because of continuation rule it does not matter if ball has been relesed or not. A1 is allowed to continue the try and the goal will be counted if successful. Play will then resume with either a throw in by A at spot nearest B2's foul or by free throws (1 and 1 or 2).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 07:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mason, Ohio
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewPV View Post
A1 shots and makes bucket. During shot, (a) A2 is fouled by B2 or (b) B2 is fouled by A2.

I believe that in both situations that the bucket would count, and the ball would be inbounded by the offended team at the POI. Am I correct? Can you point me in the right direction. I have my rulebook here and can't find it. Any help would be helpful.
If the ball was in the air, the buket would count in both situations. If B1 fouled, A1 would get a free-throw. If A2 fouled, B would either take the ball out-of-bounds or shoot if in the bonus since there is no team control during a try.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 10:06am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttaylor40 View Post
If the ball was in the air, the buket would count in both situations. If B1 fouled, A1 would get a free-throw. If A2 fouled, B would either take the ball out-of-bounds or shoot if in the bonus since there is no team control during a try.
That is incorrect.

Shots for A & B would only be shot if bonus were in affect. If bonus is not in effect than offended team would get a throw-in.

What I need to find out is if B's throw-in would be anywhere along the endline or would it be a designated spot throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 10:30am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
That is incorrect.

Shots for A & B would only be shot if bonus were in affect. If bonus is not in effect than offended team would get a throw-in.

What I need to find out is if B's throw-in would be anywhere along the endline or would it be a designated spot throw-in.
It depends on the spot of the foul. If the spot is such that the throwin spot would be on the endline, then it would be an endline throwin to prevent the team from gaining an advantage from the foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: MST
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
It depends on the spot of the foul. If the spot is such that the throwin spot would be on the endline, then it would be an endline throwin to prevent the team from gaining an advantage from the foul.
I think what BadNews had to find out was if it was a designated spot throw in (from a spot closest to the foul) or anywhere along the end line (as is the case after a made basket). Which takes precidence?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 18, 2009, 12:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Kent View Post
I think what BadNews had to find out was if it was a designated spot throw in (from a spot closest to the foul) or anywhere along the end line (as is the case after a made basket). Which takes precidence?
It's a designated spot, however...
If the designated spot is on the sideline or opposite endline, go with that. If the designated spot would be along the endline where the basket was scored, it's an endline throwin.
7-5-7b
case play 7.5.7e
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Wed Nov 18, 2009 at 12:24pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Live ball foul administered as a dead ball foul ML99 Football 2 Sun Nov 01, 2009 08:38am
Dead ball foul, then live ball foul? stegenref Football 13 Fri Sep 18, 2009 12:47pm
Question - Foul away from ball after release of the shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 3 Wed Feb 23, 2005 06:24pm
Ball stops on rim during foul shot. hbioteach Basketball 1 Wed Dec 22, 2004 01:42pm
foul off the ball while shot is in the flight timharris Basketball 6 Sun Dec 08, 2002 08:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1